Singapore Expats Forum

LTVP Denied - Appeals Procedure/Suggestions Requested.

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
pmaloo

LTVP Denied - Appeals Procedure/Suggestions Requested.

Postby pmaloo » Tue, 15 Mar 2011 7:28 pm

Hi guys!

I had applied for LTVP based on EPEC on Feb 26th and today, March 15, I got an email that it was denied. I have a Bachelors degree in Finance & Accounting along with CPA qualification (US GAAP) along with 3 years of work experience in one of the Big 4. I understand that getting EPEC and LTVP are two different things and LTVP might have well been denied because of general crackdown on number of foreigners in Singapore.

However, from what I think, it was denied because of a mismatch in Passport # (old passport) noted on EPEC and passport number (new passport) I put down in online application through e-VP. When I had applied for EPEC, I put my old passport number in the application (it was still valid for 6 months at that time but just about). So, the EPEC carries my old passport number. However, before I came here on Short Term Visa, I renewed my passport so when I filed LTVP application it had a different passport number on it resulting in a mismatch between EPEC and LTVP application.

So, I guess from people's experiences here do you think its worth it to appeal since I am already in Singapore. If yes,can someone provide more information on the appeals process? I have searched through old posts but all I could find was that people appealed but no further information on the appeals procedure itself. I couldn't find anything about the appeals procedure on the ICA website either. Can someone please throw some light on it?