Singapore Expats Forum

Anyone know where (or if) I can get my Nokia phone unlocked?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
ellenkmanning
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 07 Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

Anyone know where (or if) I can get my Nokia phone unlocked?

Postby ellenkmanning » Mon, 14 Mar 2011 7:21 pm

I have Nokia phone from the UK with an O2 SIM and I need to get it unlocked...any suggestions? Cheers!

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10734
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 14 Mar 2011 7:28 pm

If you have completed your contract with O2, they will unlock it for you. If you have not completed your contract then you have an unfulfilled obligation for the costs of the phone.

There are quite a few places here that can unlock your phone. But I'd like to know the situation.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 4:46 pm

what model is your nokia? usually if the mobile is from a monthly o2 contract, it should be unlock. o2 only lock some of the payg mobile.

User avatar
Sad Panda
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed, 16 Feb 2011
Location: US

Postby Sad Panda » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 9:40 pm

If you can't get help from o2 or a local shop you might find luck with Rebel SIM. rebelsimcard.com/

I've got one in my Dell Streak and it lets it work fine on T-mobile.
"The problem with quotes online is that you never really know if they are real." ~ Abe Lincon

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10734
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 10:12 pm

Sad Panda wrote:If you can't get help from o2 or a local shop you might find luck with Rebel SIM. rebelsimcard.com/

I've got one in my Dell Streak and it lets it work fine on T-mobile.


Well... we don't have T-Mobile in Singapore... thank gawd... and the OP indicates Singapore as her/his locale.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 10:20 pm

Strong Eagle wrote:
Sad Panda wrote:If you can't get help from o2 or a local shop you might find luck with Rebel SIM. rebelsimcard.com/

I've got one in my Dell Streak and it lets it work fine on T-mobile.


Well... we don't have T-Mobile in Singapore... thank gawd... and the OP indicates Singapore as her/his locale.


Don't discount T-mobile yet!

Me: I need a prepaid SIM with data.
AT&T: Sorry; we only have call and text on prepaid. Hey, why don't you try T-mobile down the street?
Me: Uh, ok.

....

Me: I need a prepaid SIM with data. Just the SIM card. I have my phone.
T-Mob: Sure; let me tell you about what we have...

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10734
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 10:22 pm

nakatago wrote:
Strong Eagle wrote:
Sad Panda wrote:If you can't get help from o2 or a local shop you might find luck with Rebel SIM. rebelsimcard.com/

I've got one in my Dell Streak and it lets it work fine on T-mobile.


Well... we don't have T-Mobile in Singapore... thank gawd... and the OP indicates Singapore as her/his locale.


Don't discount T-mobile yet!

Me: I need a prepaid SIM with data.
AT&T: Sorry; we only have call and text on prepaid. Hey, why don't you try T-mobile down the street?
Me: Uh, ok.

....

Me: I need a prepaid SIM with data. Just the SIM card. I have my phone.
T-Mob: Sure; let me tell you about what we have...


I agree... sh*theads at AT&T would not sell me prepaid data plan because I did not buy my iPhone from them. Dumb asses.

T-Mobile did sell me a plan... and their coverage sucks... even for voice... I go to Kingwood in Houston... a long established community... and get no service.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Wed, 16 Mar 2011 10:49 pm

Strong Eagle wrote:
I agree... sh*theads at AT&T would not sell me prepaid data plan because I did not buy my iPhone from them. Dumb asses.

T-Mobile did sell me a plan... and their coverage sucks... even for voice... I go to Kingwood in Houston... a long established community... and get no service.


Sadly, yes. Fortunately for me, it was only patches with no coverage during my time there. And I did check their coverage map just to make sure I'm covered wherever I'm going.

User avatar
Sad Panda
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed, 16 Feb 2011
Location: US

Postby Sad Panda » Fri, 18 Mar 2011 1:03 am

Strong Eagle wrote:
Sad Panda wrote:If you can't get help from o2 or a local shop you might find luck with Rebel SIM. rebelsimcard.com/

I've got one in my Dell Streak and it lets it work fine on T-mobile.


Well... we don't have T-Mobile in Singapore... thank gawd... and the OP indicates Singapore as her/his locale.


Sorry, I didn't mean to imply that T-mobile sells the Rebel SIM chips. Only that the Dell Streak is SIM locked to AT&T and the Rebel SIM lets me use the device on other networks such as T-mobile.
"The problem with quotes online is that you never really know if they are real." ~ Abe Lincon

ellenkmanning
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 07 Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

Postby ellenkmanning » Fri, 18 Mar 2011 1:45 pm

I was on a SIM only monthly contract with O2 which ended a few months ago - are there any O2 shops here?

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34674
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 18 Mar 2011 2:05 pm

Aren't O2's just HTC's. HTC was previously just a contract manufacturer and the O2 equivalent here was the Dopod. A couple of years ago, HTC bought Dopod to give themselves a corporate outlet as well. Check with HTC's website to see if the phones are the same.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 22 Mar 2011 1:24 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:Aren't O2's just HTC's. HTC was previously just a contract manufacturer and the O2 equivalent here was the Dopod. A couple of years ago, HTC bought Dopod to give themselves a corporate outlet as well. Check with HTC's website to see if the phones are the same.


And when youve doen that pop over to http://www.xda-developers.com/

to get every update / unlock/ known to man for your HTC


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron