Singapore Expats Forum

Education, marriage, dependant pass

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
+ve

Education, marriage, dependant pass

Postby +ve » Mon, 07 Mar 2011 5:45 pm

Dear friends,

I am an Indian, currently working in Kuwait. My fiance(Indian) is holding a P1 pass, and just applied for his PR this month. We wanted to pursue our wedding plans, and I am waiting for 2 yrs in Kuwait, as he was interested in applying for his PR first, as it would be easier to marry me and bring me to Singapore on a Dependant Pass/LTVP. ( I have travelled to Singapore twice in the past 2 years)

I also want to study, and applied to one of the universities. My intake is in September, for which I am waiting for approval of application. However, his PR approval could coincide with my university intake. I read somewhere that if I am a student, I cannot marry. Is that correct?

My fiance informed me that he could still marry me if I am a student, once he gets a PR, whereas I strongly opposed it, as firstly, I don't intend to jeopardize his PR by breaking any law; secondly I dont want to be banned/deported for the same reasons; thirdly, I don't want to hamper our wedding plans, and wait for another 2 years incase I am not allowed to marry as a student. Can anyone shed some light on the rules please?

Incase, he is lucky enough to get his PR, can we marry in India, or do we have to apply through the ROM in Singapore, because he is a PR? I need to plan accordingly.

Your expert advice would be highly appreciated, as I am highly confused. :???:

Thank you all in advance.

singaporeflyer
Editor
Editor

Re: Education, marriage, dependant pass

Postby singaporeflyer » Mon, 07 Mar 2011 6:19 pm

+ve wrote:Dear friends,