Singapore Expats Forum

Will standard US Christmas lights work in Sing?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Magnate99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu, 13 Jan 2011

Will standard US Christmas lights work in Sing?

Postby Magnate99 » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 10:39 am

Starting to pack for our big move. We have a pre-lit fake tree. Will I be able to plug in the lights with a plug adapter, or will I have problems with the voltage?

Thank you!

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10720
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Will standard US Christmas lights work in Sing?

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 12:07 pm

Magnate99 wrote:Starting to pack for our big move. We have a pre-lit fake tree. Will I be able to plug in the lights with a plug adapter, or will I have problems with the voltage?

Thank you!


It depends where you are moving from. UK/EU, no problem. US, wrong voltage.

Magnate99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu, 13 Jan 2011

Thanks Strong Eagle!

Postby Magnate99 » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 1:04 pm

We're from the US, so I have a feeling we'll be ditching and replacing just about anything that plugs in - UGH!

syamsulstar
Member
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed, 15 Dec 2010

Re: Thanks Strong Eagle!

Postby syamsulstar » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 1:20 pm

Magnate99 wrote:We're from the US, so I have a feeling we'll be ditching and replacing just about anything that plugs in - UGH!


Hope ur move ll go smoothly.

from my experience, most electronics should work...might have probems with kitchen appliances....need to look for the 110~240 sign...

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34659
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 2:27 pm

Actually, the best advice I ever received is "leave anything with a plug on the end of a cord at home".

Magnate99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu, 13 Jan 2011

Thanks!

Postby Magnate99 » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 2:33 pm

I've been checking everything around the house, and so far, they all say 110-115. We don't seem to have anything that claims you can switch to 220-240. It could get pricy to light our house and cook with modern kitchen appliances :o

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10720
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Thanks!

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 2:45 pm

Magnate99 wrote:I've been checking everything around the house, and so far, they all say 110-115. We don't seem to have anything that claims you can switch to 220-240. It could get pricy to light our house and cook with modern kitchen appliances :o


Depending upon whom is paying for shipping you could send your lamps and have them rewired/resocketed for 240 volt bulbs... different size sockets.

scarbowl
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon, 19 Oct 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby scarbowl » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 3:08 pm

You'll spend a bit on new appliances but it really isn't worth bringing that stuff from the States unless it works on 220vt. Laptops and desktop computers tend to but clocks, tv sets, kitchen appliances do not. Transformers are available but run hot, are troublesome, cost money, make a constant humming noise, etc. Just leave that stuff at home or have a yard sale.

Magnate99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu, 13 Jan 2011

Thanks for all of the help.

Postby Magnate99 » Thu, 13 Jan 2011 10:49 pm

Now I have fewer things to pack!


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest