Singapore Expats Forum

Watching the BBC iPlayer (a good and free VPN!)

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 11 Feb 2011 5:34 pm

Really? Damn.... maybe I should do a reinstall and see if it will link me in with UK IPs again!

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 11 Feb 2011 5:36 pm

No reinstall, just logged in and checked the IP and now it has me in London (for the first time in about 2 weeks).

:???:

carlsum1986
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 478
Joined: Sun, 06 Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok

Postby carlsum1986 » Fri, 11 Feb 2011 5:40 pm

it has also gotten better where they have removed those annoying banners they previously had above all webpages......

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 11 Feb 2011 5:54 pm

The banners were annoying, worse were the windows it opened in the background with ads with audio automatically running. But there is no such thing as free, and they do have to finance it somehow...

Once you had figured out how to control those foibles, I found it provided all that you needed. If it continues working I might revert back to using it.

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Fri, 11 Feb 2011 10:01 pm

I am trying this now on a different PC, now at home instead of the office and it always pauses/hesitates.

Using Speedtest i get a d/l from the UK of 0.90Mbps and upload of 1.35Mbps. Running the same test to the server in SG a couple of minutes later i get a d/l of 15.5Mbps and an upload of 1.46Mbps so the issue is definately not the local bandwidth but StarHubs's overseas bandwidth.

Do you think there is anyway to improve this (no, not with SingTel cause i'm tied into a Hubbing Package)? I don't see a setting in the iPlayer to increase the buffer or anything.

I was hoping this might be my solution to watching the F1 this season but with the current bandwidth :(


EDIT: I just did the Speedtest to the UK again, keeping the SG IP Address without the ExpatShield on and got an 11.8Mbps. So, how do i get the UK bandwidth via ExpatShield?
'When Lewis Hamilton wins a race he has to thank Vodafone whereas in my day I used to chase the crumpet. I know which era I'd rather race in.'

SIR Stirling Moss OBE

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Sun, 13 Feb 2011 12:56 am

Been watching the rugby all day via Expatshield.... not a single problem. No buffering, no ad-overs...

Neither with the results! :-D

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Mon, 14 Feb 2011 10:14 am

When you connect via ExpatShield what kind of d/load do you get via Speedtest?

I resorted to a Proxy off a ProxyList but these are quite unreliable and often need changed. I got double the speed via the proxy than i did via the shield.
'When Lewis Hamilton wins a race he has to thank Vodafone whereas in my day I used to chase the crumpet. I know which era I'd rather race in.'



SIR Stirling Moss OBE

User avatar
aster
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri, 15 Jan 2010

Postby aster » Mon, 14 Feb 2011 2:39 pm

There's an iPad app out now that might work abroad if you're signed up to the UK iTunes store. :)

No downloading of content though, you have to watch it while you're connected to wifi.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Mon, 14 Feb 2011 3:57 pm

ScoobyDoes wrote:When you connect via ExpatShield what kind of d/load do you get via Speedtest?

I resorted to a Proxy off a ProxyList but these are quite unreliable and often need changed. I got double the speed via the proxy than i did via the shield.


When I last tested it, I wrote 'My local access download speed is 5.83Meg, with the ip switched to London [ExpatShield] it is 5.53Meg.'

What kind of speeds are you seeing?

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 11 Mar 2011 1:14 am

For the record It's still free and functioning fine for me. Nothing altered, no fiddling about, it just works.

Getting my daily dose of day-time TV. 'Homes under the Hammer' (or 'My property porn' as my wife refers to it lol...)

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 11 Mar 2011 9:40 am

i think you just want to watch lucy alexander. :D :P

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 11 Mar 2011 11:04 am

durain wrote:i think you just want to watch lucy alexander. :D :P


Somewhat mutton dressed as lamb. Built in shock absorbers.

[Bet a visit to the jacksie would be mandatory]

muddyleopard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed, 29 Jun 2011
Location: Singapore

Postby muddyleopard » Thu, 07 Jul 2011 9:02 pm

Can anyone recommend a decent VPN that doesn't cost too much? I tried Expat shield but frankly it's pants.

User avatar
JR8
Immortal
Immortal
Posts: 16514
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010
Location: K. Puki Manis

Postby JR8 » Fri, 08 Jul 2011 12:14 am

muddyleopard wrote:Can anyone recommend a decent VPN that doesn't cost too much? I tried Expat shield but frankly it's pants.


I wrote earlier:
JR8 wrote:https://www.my-private-network.co.uk/ is a VPN that I have previously used. £5/month

Trouble was, that we were locked into a long-term broadband contract that had a theoretical max bandwidth of 2meg, and actual of c.1.2-1.5meg

With the bandwidth loss of 'going via' the UK that went down to under 1meg, where you cannot stream TV.

So I cancelled my subscription. Shame really, as it was a clear and simple product to use. If I go back to a paid VPN, it is likely to be with this company.


Another I've used that was good was ibVPN.

What do you need the VPN for? If watching TV I find ExpatShield fine (was watching Homes Under the Hammer just last night as it happens). If you use it for surfing you will get regular pop-ups, and new tabs, and redirected searches which obviously does get very annoying very quickly.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 08 Jul 2011 12:56 am

just get someone in the UK to host a PC/laptop connected to their broadband for you and install a proxy server. buy them some bak kwa or durain dodo for their trouble. sorted.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests