Singapore Expats

Good old fresh veggies

Discuss about food, eating places, shopping centres, clubs, pubs, massage, sports, travel & holidays. Share tips on best place to chill, party, relax or travel destinations.
SeanDoyle

Good old fresh veggies

Post by SeanDoyle » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 7:58 am

Hi Everyone

I know this will have been spoken about many a time, however I have done a search and cant find the post.

But I am a keen cook and am finding it hard to get the dishes the way I want mainly due to the vegetables? I know you can buy organic veggies in cold storage etc. I am too wishful in thinking that you can obtain really flavorsome vegetables? ie large vine ripened tomatoes, eggplant, green cucumbers?

Thanks
Sean

QRM
Manager
Manager

Post by QRM » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 8:37 am

Culina, and the hubber(sp) butchers at dempsy hill has a good selection but expect to pay top $ for it, there are one or two whole sale suppliers that sell artichokes, figs, asparagus at a more reasonable price but you have to buy in bulk we are talking 500-1000 dollars at a time for them to consider trading and delivering to your house.

SeanDoyle

Post by SeanDoyle » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 8:55 am

Thanks very much.

Is that the place that I am told will also sell risotto rice in bulk?

carteki
Editor
Editor

Post by carteki » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 10:27 am

I've found that the veggies from the wet-market are more tasteful than those in the supermarkets since they're generally from MY and haven't be transported 1/2 way across the world at near-zero temps - but there is no guarantee.

SeanDoyle

Post by SeanDoyle » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 10:39 am

thanks i have heard about the wet markets, where and when would i find them?

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Mon, 08 Nov 2010 10:55 am

SeanDoyle wrote:thanks i have heard about the wet markets, where and when would i find them?