Singapore Expats Forum

Taiwanese electronics

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
swmnchef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 10 Sep 2010

Taiwanese electronics

Postby swmnchef » Fri, 10 Sep 2010 5:51 pm

I am moving from Taiwan to Singapore and would like to know if my electronics will work. Specifically, I would like to know if the PAL signal format that is used in Singapore televisions signals works for Taiwanese televisions. Has anyone current on this information?

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 10 Sep 2010 6:07 pm

singapore power is 230v at 50Hz. if your TV is multi system and support PAL, then should be OK. taiwan is NTSC (not sure if moved to ATSC yet).

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Taiwanese electronics

Postby ksl » Fri, 10 Sep 2010 11:48 pm

swmnchef wrote:I am moving from Taiwan to Singapore and would like to know if my electronics will work. Specifically, I would like to know if the PAL signal format that is used in Singapore televisions signals works for Taiwanese televisions. Has anyone current on this information?


Taiwan is all 110v apart from aircon which is 220v.

Singapore is 230v and the plugs are 3 pin. and 2 pin round. different shape to Taiwan, I would sell your electronics if made for the local Taiwan market or leave them with your family, and buy new!

If they are made to International standards there will be dual voltage switches.
I know because i have also lived in Taiwan. I blew some amp speakers, because I forgot about the difference, and plugged into an 2 pin extension lead......so don't bring them if they are not changable on voltage. Also TV is American system but most have a chnage over switch, but the voltage would be a problem if no dual voltage, you would have to check all your equipment and change plugs

swmnchef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 10 Sep 2010

Postby swmnchef » Mon, 13 Sep 2010 12:20 pm

Thanks for the information.
The video color system Is PAL/SECAM/NTSC 3.58/NTSC 4.43/PAL 60
If I use a voltage transformer can I still use the television? I just bought it and would hate to loose value on the sale and have to buy another when I reach Singapore.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Mon, 13 Sep 2010 1:08 pm

swmnchef wrote:Thanks for the information.
The video color system Is PAL/SECAM/NTSC 3.58/NTSC 4.43/PAL 60
If I use a voltage transformer can I still use the television? I just bought it and would hate to loose value on the sale and have to buy another when I reach Singapore.
Yes you can use a converter, but see if the TV can be converted for you at the service centre in Taiwan or Singapore for a nominal amount it's better.

swmnchef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 10 Sep 2010

Postby swmnchef » Thu, 30 Sep 2010 8:55 am

Thanks for the information. Very helpful..


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests