Singapore Expats

Importing a car to singapore

Have your burning questions answered relating to buying and selling cars and other vehicles.
SaadCE

Importing a car to singapore

Post by SaadCE » Sun, 29 Aug 2010 11:59 pm

So i'm new to this forum although iv'e been lurking around reading posts since like forever.

Anyhow, i'm from the UK and i have a 2008 Mercedes that i want to i port into Singapore. I can get it as far as shipped to the port but thats it. What do i do next? How do i get it through customs, get it registered? Roughly, what will it cost me? I was told it would cost around SG$5000 plus an additional fee of 150% the cars value!? I was also told it was extremely tedious and time wasting?
Any expert help out here?
Honesty is the best policy

Mad Scientist
Director
Director
Answers: 4

Post by Mad Scientist » Mon, 30 Aug 2010 4:13 am

Tedious and time wasting yes but you have patient, it is worth it cause the vehicle here cost an arm and a leg. I have no experience in bringing in imported vehicle , SE, knows better
Try this link
http://www.customs.gov.sg/topNav/faq/FA ... ehicle.htm

and this for a headstart

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/o ... ng/en.html
The positive thinker sees the invisible, feels the intangible, and achieves the impossible.Yahoo !!!

SaadCE

Post by SaadCE » Mon, 30 Aug 2010 7:10 am

Mad Scientist wrote:Tedious and time wasting yes but you have patient, it is worth it cause the vehicle here cost an arm and a leg. I have no experience in bringing in imported vehicle , SE, knows better
Try this link
http://www.customs.gov.sg/topNav/faq/FA ... ehicle.htm

and this for a headstart

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/o ... ng/en.html
Thanks, i'll take a look at them links. I'm a patient person so i might be okay, its just as long as i don't end up paying the value of my car twice over - just by importing it.

chster

Re: Importing a car to singapore

Post by chster » Mon, 30 Aug 2010 12:37 pm