Singapore Expats Forum

foreigner marrying a singapore citizen / moving to Singapore

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
B_M

foreigner marrying a singapore citizen / moving to Singapore

Postby B_M » Sun, 29 Aug 2010 11:32 pm

Hello all, I've only just registered, but have been reading the forum for quite some time, enough time to know not to expect anything about moving to Singapore to be easy..

I would like some personal advice though..so here is my situation:

I have been in a relationship with a singapore citizen (female) for the past 3 years, this is a long distance relationship. I have been to singapore and she has come here during this time. The time has come for us to prepare for living together though..I would like to move to Singapore from Belgium in about 1.5-2 years time.

I work as a graphic designer, but don't hold a degree. My gf has a good job in finance.

What would be the most advisable for us? From what I've read, the best possibility for us is to apply for a long term visit pass after getting married. Would it be a bad move to go to Singapore, get our marriage done (ROM) with her friends as witnesses and then apply for LTVP ? Would it be better to get married..say next summer in europe and then come over and apply for LTVP ?

I was also wondering what happens if I can't find a job within about 6-7 months and I have to renew my LTVP (assuming I got one in the first place), is it likely to get extended being married to a citizen?

Hope this wasn't too much to read..look forward to your replies, thanks in advance!

Mad Scientist
Director
Director

Re: foreigner marrying a singapore citizen / moving to Singa

Postby Mad Scientist » Mon, 30 Aug 2010 2:15 am

B_M wrote: