Singapore Expats Forum

Optical Roll Out

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Optical Roll Out

Postby ksl » Wed, 18 Aug 2010 8:57 am

I read an artical this week saying the roll out of optical broadband will start in September 2010! Can anyone confirm this?

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10731
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Wed, 18 Aug 2010 10:22 am

They just installed it on my street. Go to this website and put in your postal code to find out when you will get fibre.

http://rollout.opennet.com.sg/

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34671
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Wed, 18 Aug 2010 1:05 pm

Mine was installed on the 24 of July.

gRF
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon, 04 Jul 2005
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby gRF » Wed, 18 Aug 2010 4:31 pm

Apart from getting fiber boxes/switches and cables installed in your building - I doubt anyone will get fiber-internet activated before late 2011...

OpenNet website shows only when they will lay down the cables to your building, not when the fiber internet is going to be operational. You'll have to wait for Singnet or Starhub to roll out subscription plans.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10731
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 12:00 am

gRF wrote:Apart from getting fiber boxes/switches and cables installed in your building - I doubt anyone will get fiber-internet activated before late 2011...

OpenNet website shows only when they will lay down the cables to your building, not when the fiber internet is going to be operational. You'll have to wait for Singnet or Starhub to roll out subscription plans.


Or another supplier. The main advantage is the price... zero... to get the termination box installed now.

gRF
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon, 04 Jul 2005
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby gRF » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 2:43 am

Strong Eagle wrote:Or another supplier. The main advantage is the price... zero... to get the termination box installed now.


Yes.
If OpenNet hasn't installed fiber switch(*) in your apartment already, on their website you need to signup for free installation. If you ask for installation after they finish laying out fibers, there will be installation fees ~$450

(*) Fiber switch (termination box) should be installed just outside your apartment doors, where other phone or cableTV termination boxes are. It's black box, about 15x20cm big, with purple OpenNet logo pasted on it.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34671
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 6:59 am

Actually you can have up to a 15 metre run inside of your house with the box installation rather than terminating it just inside like the old cable boxes are at the same cost and for a couple bucks more you can run it even further if you do it during the initial installation roll-out phase. All the guys running around all over Singapore with the purple shirts with white trim are the installation folks from OpenNet.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10731
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 8:02 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:Actually you can have up to a 15 metre run inside of your house with the box installation rather than terminating it just inside like the old cable boxes are at the same cost and for a couple bucks more you can run it even further if you do it during the initial installation roll-out phase. All the guys running around all over Singapore with the purple shirts with white trim are the installation folks from OpenNet.


The give me 15 meters from my front gate to point of box in the house. I think I'll just make it without extra charge.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34671
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 8:53 am

Oops! Sorry SE, I forgot you were in landed property. Flat dwellers like myself have only 4 inches from our property entrance to the house (the front grill to the front door!) So, yeah, guess I should rephrase that to 15m from initial property access to the box. :oops:

But on the upside, the additional cost per meter is rather cheap if you do it at the initial installation. Granted you should get the LL to cover it, but again, it would only be a couple of bucks more.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 9:09 am

I haven't really given it much thought or research but if even if you do have fiber, would it improve your surfing experience to sites whose servers are physically outside of Singapore?
:???:

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34671
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 9:59 am

And therein lies the whole problem. The bottleneck has always been the overseas pipes. The "last mile" is only effective for servers located here in Singapore on the Singapore Backbone. So, it will be good for the universities and government but doubtful for the downloading of movies from overseas unless the bandwidth through the subsea pipes is expanded. Also, even if you have big incoming pipes, you can still only download as fast as the hosting servers can upload. But in the future???????

I think that they are just getting prepared for the future.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10731
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 10:32 am

nakatago wrote:I haven't really given it much thought or research but if even if you do have fiber, would it improve your surfing experience to sites whose servers are physically outside of Singapore?
:???:


Virtually all international connections are done with fibre, and over very large pipes. The keys to delays for overseas servers are bandwidth capabilities of switches and routers, the routes chosen, and of course, the bandwidth of the gahmen's equipment used to scan and censor websites.

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 10:54 am

Strong Eagle wrote:
nakatago wrote:I haven't really given it much thought or research but if even if you do have fiber, would it improve your surfing experience to sites whose servers are physically outside of Singapore?
:???:


Virtually all international connections are done with fibre, and over very large pipes. The keys to delays for overseas servers are bandwidth capabilities of switches and routers, the routes chosen, and of course, the bandwidth of the gahmen's equipment used to scan and censor websites.


HA! I knew it!

@SMS: downloading is moot; but streaming? Youtube was really bad during the world cup. Also, not until we get Hulu/Netflix or something equivalent.

(sigh...)

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10731
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 19 Aug 2010 2:28 pm

The problem is significantly more complicated than simply routers and such. The big carriers in SG can have a point of presence (POP) within an international carriers network, or vice versa depending upon agreements and requirements.

Without any network planning, routing of requests and data is a "best guess" based upon available connections. It is possible to get from Singapore to Houston many different ways. Some may well be faster than others.

To maximize performance, network routes must be established through each router and switch. This guarantees that the same route with known characteristics is used each time.

Large companies typically have their networks set up like that. As an end user hooked to some local ISP, you will not have control over the route taken. But you will go through the gahmen's equipment.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Tue, 31 Aug 2010 11:17 pm

It has just been on the 11 pm news that the optical roll out starts tomorrow! Though never said by who :???: :x and i cannot find anything on a search with regards to the roll out, though i did read about it online once. I'll bet gahmen have the lead in technology and speed.

It doesn't matter if you live in US UK or timbuktu, they will always be monitoring communication transmissions and censorship will always be an option if needed.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/au ... ondon-flat


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests