Singapore Expats Forum

Can I renew my PR if I'm studying but unemployed?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
treadstone

Can I renew my PR if I'm studying but unemployed?

Postby treadstone » Mon, 16 Aug 2010 6:46 pm

I left my job around a year ago to further my studies full-time and my Permanent Residency is about to expire soon. Do they make exceptions for cases like this and renew my PR even though I'm not employed?

singaporeflyer
Manager
Manager

Re: Can I renew my PR if I'm studying but unemployed?

Postby singaporeflyer » Mon, 16 Aug 2010 7:10 pm

treadstone wrote:I left my job around a year ago to further my studies full-time and my Permanent Residency is about to expire soon. Do they make exceptions for cases like this and renew my PR even though I'm not employed?

If you have taken PR under the PTS Scheme I think you are eligible to renew your REP only if you are gainfully employed.

But still you may wish to go to ICA and seek advise from them if they can renew your REP after your studies is over and when you get an employment here

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 16 Aug 2010 10:09 pm

While they probably would not renew your REP, you wouldn't lose PR unless you left the country. So, the easiest way is to do your studies, get a job and then apply for a new REP after you have been back in the workforce for a year. Might work.

treadstone

Postby treadstone » Mon, 16 Aug 2010 11:21 pm

Thanks for the reply, guys. Is one year the minimum time requirement you have to be employed for to have your REP eligible for renewal?

singaporeflyer
Manager
Manager

Postby singaporeflyer » Mon, 16 Aug 2010 11:27 pm

treadstone wrote:Thanks for the reply, guys. Is one year the minimum time requirement you have to be employed for to have your REP eligible for renewal?

No at the time of renewal you should be surely employed if you were granted PR under PTS Scheme.