Singapore Expats Forum

Student Pass + EPEC

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
kooltilldend
Regular
Regular

Student Pass + EPEC

Postby kooltilldend » Tue, 20 Jul 2010 2:24 am

Hi Y'all,

So I've been reading through this forum (and elsewhere such as the MOM and ICA website) as extensively as I could yet there were still a few queries that I could not figure out an answer for. Therefore, I decided I'd just ask them here instead as from what I've read before, you people (well at least some of you anyways heh) seem to be really well versed in this stuff and will thus, hopefully, be able to help me out. So anyways here's the deal:

I'm an Indian citizen, aged 23, who's been living for about the last 16 yrs in Thailand (dad works here). I did my BSc. from USA and now I will be joining NTU (Nanyang) for my MSc. next month.

However, naturally the university (and more specifically the department I'll be joining) is unable to guarantee me of any job opportunities after the completion of the 1 year degree.

As such, I have been doing all my job related research in advance by myself (which led me to this forum in fact).

Now here's where you guys hopefully come in:

You see, firstly, I saw no information about as to when I should apply for a EPEC while I'm on a student pass (or even if I can for that matter). I understand the student pass allows me to stay in Singapore for an year so naturally I shouldn't apply for EPEC atm since that'll just waste time from the EPEC even if I get it....however, can I apply for it while I'm about to finish my degree, yet still am on the student pass? Or do I have to wait till the student pass expires before I can apply for the EPEC?

I'm sure the uni will offer this info. in due course of time however, I figured it doesn't hurt to know in advance since its only a single year degree so I won't exactly have a lot of time to search for jobs and stuff.