Singapore Expats

I want to work in Singapore. Unrealistic?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
tennisdude818

I want to work in Singapore. Unrealistic?

Post by tennisdude818 » Sun, 06 Jun 2010 12:58 am

I graduated from college in 2009 in the US, and I want to get into banking/finance. I currently have a temporary contract position with a major bank, but the job is far from flashy. So I'm still looking for entry level work while I keep my current job, and I really want to work in Singapore. Is it a waste of time to look for work in Singapore from the US? Is it a waste of money for me to hire a recruiting agency to help me?

So be brutally honest. As much as I want to work and live in Singapore, I want to know if the search would be a waste of time and money. If it's reasonable to expect success, I would immediately work on getting a visa and perhaps hiring a reputable recruiter.

Thanks.

Medha

Post by Medha » Sun, 06 Jun 2010 2:47 am

The job market in SG now is hot. There are many jobs available now. I am not sure what is your concern. You can always try to apply online. The hiring company will help you in getting the work permit. Good Luck to you.
Fun and interesting :)

tennisdude818

Post by tennisdude818 » Sun, 06 Jun 2010 3:56 am

Thanks for the reply. My concern is the fact that I'm searching from the US rather than from within Singapore. Is that a normal situation? Do you just interview over Skype?

serve_the_servants
Regular
Regular

Post by serve_the_servants » Sun, 06 Jun 2010 6:48 am

I have the same question.

How are interviews been done, using Skype? Video chat? I heard from some people on this forum that they got a job by applying while abroad so it should be possible I guess!