Singapore Expats Forum

SIA cabin crew

Join in the discussion about employment, interview as a cabin crew, pilot in major airlines.
etgirl
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue, 24 Apr 2012

Postby etgirl » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 5:01 pm

yoyobin wrote:
etgirl wrote:made it all the way to the kebaya check today. and was asked to go back to the interviewer's room again and walk back and forth. but i was still eliminated. does any one knows what they were looking for?


Are u too skinny or on the plump side?? Maybe u can try to work on that part??


on the average plump side. well. gonna hit the tracks! not giving up cos i went all the way pass the mgmt round and only failing at the kebaya round! ^^. jia you girls!

ponytailparade
Member
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri, 15 Jun 2012

Postby ponytailparade » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 6:43 pm

Nevergiveup wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
masqueradedoll wrote:Hey, I went to the cabin crew recruitment today. Believe me,it wasn't as hard as others describe. But I didn't make it for the mass introduction cause I m too nervous. But at least I know I did try. And I came there only with my Diploma in Make Up Artistry. Which many think I shouldn't given it a try due to its not related. I didn't even ask to go home. I was allowed in the queue and waited for our group to be called for the mass introduction round. What I m trying to say here is don't ask around, tried it for yourself. FYI even someone with Higher Nitec is allowed in the queue. Try it for yourself, if you were ask to go home don't get disappointed. If you really want the job you will work hard for it and good luck. 

By the way I'm retaking my O's. Just to be there. And yes if you really want it, do what ever it takes. 


EVERYONE is allowed in the queue. Everyone is given a chance to try out. However, even if you pass the group interview. The next round would be checking of documents. So if you don't even 5 O's you will be asked to go home.

No one discouraged you from going. Everyone here are just telling you the facts. You need at least 5 O's, that's the fact. So why don't you get 5 O's then try again? Why keep trying and end up getting booted out at the first round?

Honestly, everyone is nervous there. Interviewers do not reject you because of that. They see your qualifications and the way you talk too.


Hi there, I kinda disagree with ponytailparade. The website might state 5 Olevels credits but if you got a diploma cert or degree cert, who gives a damn about your Olevels credits? :)

Repeating your Olevels might be a risky thing. Why dont you just go for another diploma that is more known? I'm not saying your diploma in makeup is not useful or back yourself up with a diploma from local schools will be better.

All the best if you are going for the next interview!!! ;)


In order to get a recognised diploma in a local polytechnic, you have to have at least 5 O level's credit. Masqueradedoll only has 4. So she still has to retake.

They do check your o level's cert if you have a diploma. Even if you have a diploma but no o level's, you will be rejected.

If she "go for another diploma more known", like you said, it will take her at least 2 years. Retaking her o's will only take her a year.

Bottom line is, you may have a diploma, but if it is not recognised, you need to have 5 O level's to back you up.

Nevergiveup
Member
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon, 09 Jan 2012

Postby Nevergiveup » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 8:30 pm

ponytailparade wrote:
Nevergiveup wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
masqueradedoll wrote:Hey, I went to the cabin crew recruitment today. Believe me,it wasn't as hard as others describe. But I didn't make it for the mass introduction cause I m too nervous. But at least I know I did try. And I came there only with my Diploma in Make Up Artistry. Which many think I shouldn't given it a try due to its not related. I didn't even ask to go home. I was allowed in the queue and waited for our group to be called for the mass introduction round. What I m trying to say here is don't ask around, tried it for yourself. FYI even someone with Higher Nitec is allowed in the queue. Try it for yourself, if you were ask to go home don't get disappointed. If you really want the job you will work hard for it and good luck. 

By the way I'm retaking my O's. Just to be there. And yes if you really want it, do what ever it takes. 


EVERYONE is allowed in the queue. Everyone is given a chance to try out. However, even if you pass the group interview. The next round would be checking of documents. So if you don't even 5 O's you will be asked to go home.

No one discouraged you from going. Everyone here are just telling you the facts. You need at least 5 O's, that's the fact. So why don't you get 5 O's then try again? Why keep trying and end up getting booted out at the first round?

Honestly, everyone is nervous there. Interviewers do not reject you because of that. They see your qualifications and the way you talk too.


Hi there, I kinda disagree with ponytailparade. The website might state 5 Olevels credits but if you got a diploma cert or degree cert, who gives a damn about your Olevels credits? :)

Repeating your Olevels might be a risky thing. Why dont you just go for another diploma that is more known? I'm not saying your diploma in makeup is not useful or back yourself up with a diploma from local schools will be better.

All the best if you are going for the next interview!!! ;)


In order to get a recognised diploma in a local polytechnic, you have to have at least 5 O level's credit. Masqueradedoll only has 4. So she still has to retake.

They do check your o level's cert if you have a diploma. Even if you have a diploma but no o level's, you will be rejected.

If she "go for another diploma more known", like you said, it will take her at least 2 years. Retaking her o's will only take her a year.

Bottom line is, you may have a diploma, but if it is not recognised, you need to have 5 O level's to back you up.


Hey ponytailparade, are you having your training now or you are already start flying?

I think we should give all the hopefuls here encouragement instead of putting them down? So all the best to all the hopefuls!!! ;)

yoyobin
Regular
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun, 04 Dec 2011

Postby yoyobin » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 9:37 pm

ponytailparade wrote:
Nevergiveup wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
masqueradedoll wrote:Hey, I went to the cabin crew recruitment today. Believe me,it wasn't as hard as others describe. But I didn't make it for the mass introduction cause I m too nervous. But at least I know I did try. And I came there only with my Diploma in Make Up Artistry. Which many think I shouldn't given it a try due to its not related. I didn't even ask to go home. I was allowed in the queue and waited for our group to be called for the mass introduction round. What I m trying to say here is don't ask around, tried it for yourself. FYI even someone with Higher Nitec is allowed in the queue. Try it for yourself, if you were ask to go home don't get disappointed. If you really want the job you will work hard for it and good luck. 

By the way I'm retaking my O's. Just to be there. And yes if you really want it, do what ever it takes. 


EVERYONE is allowed in the queue. Everyone is given a chance to try out. However, even if you pass the group interview. The next round would be checking of documents. So if you don't even 5 O's you will be asked to go home.

No one discouraged you from going. Everyone here are just telling you the facts. You need at least 5 O's, that's the fact. So why don't you get 5 O's then try again? Why keep trying and end up getting booted out at the first round?

Honestly, everyone is nervous there. Interviewers do not reject you because of that. They see your qualifications and the way you talk too.


Hi there, I kinda disagree with ponytailparade. The website might state 5 Olevels credits but if you got a diploma cert or degree cert, who gives a damn about your Olevels credits? :)

Repeating your Olevels might be a risky thing. Why dont you just go for another diploma that is more known? I'm not saying your diploma in makeup is not useful or back yourself up with a diploma from local schools will be better.

All the best if you are going for the next interview!!! ;)


In order to get a recognised diploma in a local polytechnic, you have to have at least 5 O level's credit. Masqueradedoll only has 4. So she still has to retake.

They do check your o level's cert if you have a diploma. Even if you have a diploma but no o level's, you will be rejected.

If she "go for another diploma more known", like you said, it will take her at least 2 years. Retaking her o's will only take her a year.

Bottom line is, you may have a diploma, but if it is not recognised, you need to have 5 O level's to back you up.


Hmms, I thought a recognised diploma is ok even without o levels??
But if someone only have an o level cert (5 credit ), it must be accompanied by sufficient work experiences... Correct me if I'm wrong..

Tating
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 09 Jan 2012

Postby Tating » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 9:49 pm

yoyobin wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
Nevergiveup wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
masqueradedoll wrote:Hey, I went to the cabin crew recruitment today. Believe me,it wasn't as hard as others describe. But I didn't make it for the mass introduction cause I m too nervous. But at least I know I did try. And I came there only with my Diploma in Make Up Artistry. Which many think I shouldn't given it a try due to its not related. I didn't even ask to go home. I was allowed in the queue and waited for our group to be called for the mass introduction round. What I m trying to say here is don't ask around, tried it for yourself. FYI even someone with Higher Nitec is allowed in the queue. Try it for yourself, if you were ask to go home don't get disappointed. If you really want the job you will work hard for it and good luck. 

By the way I'm retaking my O's. Just to be there. And yes if you really want it, do what ever it takes. 


EVERYONE is allowed in the queue. Everyone is given a chance to try out. However, even if you pass the group interview. The next round would be checking of documents. So if you don't even 5 O's you will be asked to go home.

No one discouraged you from going. Everyone here are just telling you the facts. You need at least 5 O's, that's the fact. So why don't you get 5 O's then try again? Why keep trying and end up getting booted out at the first round?

Honestly, everyone is nervous there. Interviewers do not reject you because of that. They see your qualifications and the way you talk too.


Hi there, I kinda disagree with ponytailparade. The website might state 5 Olevels credits but if you got a diploma cert or degree cert, who gives a damn about your Olevels credits? :)

Repeating your Olevels might be a risky thing. Why dont you just go for another diploma that is more known? I'm not saying your diploma in makeup is not useful or back yourself up with a diploma from local schools will be better.

All the best if you are going for the next interview!!! ;)


In order to get a recognised diploma in a local polytechnic, you have to have at least 5 O level's credit. Masqueradedoll only has 4. So she still has to retake.

They do check your o level's cert if you have a diploma. Even if you have a diploma but no o level's, you will be rejected.

If she "go for another diploma more known", like you said, it will take her at least 2 years. Retaking her o's will only take her a year.

Bottom line is, you may have a diploma, but if it is not recognised, you need to have 5 O level's to back you up.


Hmms, I thought a recognised diploma is ok even without o levels??
But if someone only have an o level cert (5 credit ), it must be accompanied by sufficient work experiences... Correct me if I'm wrong..


not really i have only 4 olevels with a diploma... They will take your highest qualification... but i guess your diploma has to be an academic diploma from a polytechnic or a recognize private school.

i have friends flying now going in with a dip from Kaplan and MDIS n i believe their dip only take 8 months to complete right? so ya those dont want to retake olevel go get a private diploma but the fees will cost more lah then retaking olevels.

Tating
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 09 Jan 2012

Re: Signing of the deed of covenant

Postby Tating » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 9:54 pm

chatoyant_ wrote:
Tating wrote:
chatoyant_ wrote:Hello everyone. Just a quick question:

How long before the training date will we receive the email to come down to sign the deed with our surety/guarantor?

Btw, I'm starting my training on 5th July. Anyone else starting training on the same date?

Please respond if you know anything, because the wait is killing me.
And thank you in advance :)


Im starting on 5th July too :D i was told they will contact us to come down to sign the deed end of this month.

The wait is killing huh haha update me when u get any news!



Hey so I guess we'd be batchmates?
I know right, the wait is excruciating.
I thought the signing of the deed would be in the middle of the month which was why I was so anxious lol. Thanks for answering my question. Can't wait to start training! :)


hey u, ive receive the email stating the date to sign the deed already :D im sure u too!!!

yoyobin
Regular
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun, 04 Dec 2011

Postby yoyobin » Mon, 18 Jun 2012 10:01 pm

Tating wrote:
yoyobin wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
Nevergiveup wrote:
ponytailparade wrote:
masqueradedoll wrote:Hey, I went to the cabin crew recruitment today. Believe me,it wasn't as hard as others describe. But I didn't make it for the mass introduction cause I m too nervous. But at least I know I did try. And I came there only with my Diploma in Make Up Artistry. Which many think I shouldn't given it a try due to its not related. I didn't even ask to go home. I was allowed in the queue and waited for our group to be called for the mass introduction round. What I m trying to say here is don't ask around, tried it for yourself. FYI even someone with Higher Nitec is allowed in the queue. Try it for yourself, if you were ask to go home don't get disappointed. If you really want the job you will work hard for it and good luck. 

By the way I'm retaking my O's. Just to be there. And yes if you really want it, do what ever it takes. 


EVERYONE is allowed in the queue. Everyone is given a chance to try out. However, even if you pass the group interview. The next round would be checking of documents. So if you don't even 5 O's you will be asked to go home.

No one discouraged you from going. Everyone here are just telling you the facts. You need at least 5 O's, that's the fact. So why don't you get 5 O's then try again? Why keep trying and end up getting booted out at the first round?

Honestly, everyone is nervous there. Interviewers do not reject you because of that. They see your qualifications and the way you talk too.


Hi there, I kinda disagree with ponytailparade. The website might state 5 Olevels credits but if you got a diploma cert or degree cert, who gives a damn about your Olevels credits? :)

Repeating your Olevels might be a risky thing. Why dont you just go for another diploma that is more known? I'm not saying your diploma in makeup is not useful or back yourself up with a diploma from local schools will be better.

All the best if you are going for the next interview!!! ;)


In order to get a recognised diploma in a local polytechnic, you have to have at least 5 O level's credit. Masqueradedoll only has 4. So she still has to retake.

They do check your o level's cert if you have a diploma. Even if you have a diploma but no o level's, you will be rejected.

If she "go for another diploma more known", like you said, it will take her at least 2 years. Retaking her o's will only take her a year.

Bottom line is, you may have a diploma, but if it is not recognised, you need to have 5 O level's to back you up.


Hmms, I thought a recognised diploma is ok even without o levels??
But if someone only have an o level cert (5 credit ), it must be accompanied by sufficient work experiences... Correct me if I'm wrong..


not really i have only 4 olevels with a diploma... They will take your highest qualification... but i guess your diploma has to be an academic diploma from a polytechnic or a recognize private school.

i have friends flying now going in with a dip from Kaplan and MDIS n i believe their dip only take 8 months to complete right? so ya those dont want to retake olevel go get a private diploma but the fees will cost more lah then retaking olevels.


So ur diploma is from Mdis??

chatoyant_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 01 Jun 2012

Re: Signing of the deed of covenant

Postby chatoyant_ » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 12:08 am

Tating wrote:
chatoyant_ wrote:
Tating wrote:
chatoyant_ wrote:Hello everyone. Just a quick question:

How long before the training date will we receive the email to come down to sign the deed with our surety/guarantor?

Btw, I'm starting my training on 5th July. Anyone else starting training on the same date?

Please respond if you know anything, because the wait is killing me.
And thank you in advance :)


Im starting on 5th July too :D i was told they will contact us to come down to sign the deed end of this month.

The wait is killing huh haha update me when u get any news!



Hey so I guess we'd be batchmates?
I know right, the wait is excruciating.
I thought the signing of the deed would be in the middle of the month which was why I was so anxious lol. Thanks for answering my question. Can't wait to start training! :)


hey u, ive receive the email stating the date to sign the deed already :D im sure u too!!!


Hey I've gotten the email too. So happy! Is yours on 2nd July? Batch 33/12? :D

mandylane
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue, 10 Apr 2012

Postby mandylane » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 4:52 am

ponytailparade wrote:
etgirl wrote:made it all the way to the kebaya check today. and was asked to go back to the interviewer's room again and walk back and forth. but i was still eliminated. does any one knows what they were looking for?


You're either too skinny or a little plump, thus do not look good in the kebaya. However, you might be an acceptable weight but maybe your body looks disproportionate in the kebaya? Try and shape/tone your body?

Then again, there can be many reasons why. These are just a few of the possible few reasons.

Don't give up! Try again. :) I believe there's a reason as to why you could make it so far!


Same. I was so damn sian. Made it all the way then last round kena kicked out. FML. but nonetheless gonna try again. Sometimes its about luck.

firefries
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed, 23 May 2012

Postby firefries » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 9:25 am

Hihi, i am wondering hows the flight schedule of a cc crew like?
I'm intending to go try for the next interview, and would really like to find out more about wad the cc crew job really consist of.

Thanks all:)

skyflyer
Member
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue, 19 Jun 2012

Postby skyflyer » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 1:27 pm

4 August 2012! 4 August 2012!! The next one! http://www.singaporeair.com/jsp/cms/en_ ... tments.jsp

raiderbomb
Member
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu, 01 Jul 2010

Postby raiderbomb » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 3:07 pm

Hi there, I went for my medical check up today and was surprised that there was no blood test. There was an X-ray taken around my chest area... Is the X-ray taken to check the lung condition or the spine? How do they check for scoliosis? They did not ask me to do any forward bending or whatsoever. Can anyone be keen to share their medical check up experiences? :)

chatoyant_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 01 Jun 2012

Postby chatoyant_ » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 5:34 pm

raiderbomb wrote:Hi there, I went for my medical check up today and was surprised that there was no blood test. There was an X-ray taken around my chest area... Is the X-ray taken to check the lung condition or the spine? How do they check for scoliosis? They did not ask me to do any forward bending or whatsoever. Can anyone be keen to share their medical check up experiences? :)


Hi there. A chest x-ray shows your spine as well, not just the chest. In fact, it shows your entire torso. That's how the conclude if you're having scoliosis.

And yea, when I went there was also no blood test - just a urine test which is enough for them to tell what's going on in your blood stream.

All the best!

tomandjerryonwards
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 20 May 2012

Postby tomandjerryonwards » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 5:44 pm

raiderbomb wrote:Hi there, I went for my medical check up today and was surprised that there was no blood test. There was an X-ray taken around my chest area... Is the X-ray taken to check the lung condition or the spine? How do they check for scoliosis? They did not ask me to do any forward bending or whatsoever. Can anyone be keen to share their medical check up experiences? :)


So lucky! I was asked to bend down and had to do further checks on my spine -_-

kaina
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed, 17 May 2006

Postby kaina » Tue, 19 Jun 2012 6:02 pm

Hi,

Anyone have any idea if i will be booted out because during the medical check up, my height taken was 157cm instead of my usual 158cm?

Is there anyone who successfully get through the medical check up with a height of 157cm reflected in the medical report?


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Airline Careers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests