Singapore Expats Forum

EP application got rejected. Reason unknown.

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
gaj3

EP application got rejected. Reason unknown.

Postby gaj3 » Mon, 24 May 2010 7:09 pm

Hi,

Recently my EP got rejected. Reason was not specified on the rejection letter. I work in IT industry and my new employer in Singapore is quite well-known. I have relevant years of work experience in IT, I graduated from well known university in India and salary wise I qualify for P1 status. I am not sure what could have been the reason. 4 years ago, I was refused entry in the US but after couple of years, my employer in India processed my work permit and I worked in the US on L1 visa. While filling up the questionnaire, I had to mention "yes" to the question - if any country had ever refused an entry. I gave justification also that after couple of years I was allowed to work. I am not sure if this has been the reason. My new employer has agreed to submit an appeal to justify this case. Could anyone let me know if this has ever happened to anyone in the past. If yes, what are the chances of getting EP approved after submitting the appeal ?

durain
Director
Director

Postby durain » Mon, 24 May 2010 7:22 pm

maybe a local can do the same job you are applying? when you apply for a EP, it is not a 100% sure thing.

revhappy
Editor
Editor

Postby revhappy » Sat, 29 May 2010 9:09 am

EPs for IT jobs with 5k or more salary are almost always automatically given. There aren't enough locals who can fill the gap. Period. It could be the US visa rejection.

Were you refused entry to US or was you US visa rejected? Are the 2 things same? If not you probably need to correct your application. I am speculating here. Have a thorough look at your application. And check whether you have made any mistakes

gaj3

Postby gaj3 » Mon, 31 May 2010 5:20 pm