Singapore Expats

Where to buy electronics near US prices with no bargaining?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
scootley

Where to buy electronics near US prices with no bargaining?

Post by scootley » Thu, 06 May 2010 1:33 pm

Admins/mods: This is not an advertisement. I am an individual resident asking an honest question.

Hi,

From my experience, if you go to buy a modern mainstream electronic item/gadget at the type of shop in Singapore that has price tags and does not bargain, it will be significantly more expensive than US prices at similar shops. This is even true of prices listed on regional manufacturer web sites.

For example, take the new Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5V digital camera. It is a mainstream non-professional consumer item that was announced by Sony in January 2010.

Here are the prices on 7 regional versions of the Sony online store from around the world:

Code: Select all

Country     Currency|Local Price|SGD Price|USD Price|Price Rank|Price Diff (%)| Price Diff (USD)
USA         USD         349.99     480.96    349.99          1           0%                  0   
Hong Kong   HKD           2990     529.94    385.10          2          10%                 35   
Singapore   SGD            649     649.00    471.62          3          35%                122   
Japan       JPY          44800     652.56    474.21          4          35%                124   
UK          GBP            329     686.35    499.72          5          43%                150   
South Korea KRW         564000     696.18    505.91          6          45%                156   
Australia   AUD            629     792.51    578.37          7          65%                228 
Today's exchange rates were used.
As you can see, Singapore prices for this item are 35% higher than US prices. I also checked a few official Sony shops in Singapore, which have the exact same price.