Singapore Expats

Non-competition agreement

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
Doris yeo

Non-competition agreement

Post by Doris yeo » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 5:26 pm

I have signed an employment contract. The employer has listed a "Non-competition agreement" for not allowing the employee to work in the same industry for two years, but no compensation is given. May I know this is legal or not?

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 5:38 pm

What line of work? Basically such non competition agreements are unenforceable because they restrict your ability to earn a living. Unless you happen to be carrying the secret of cold fusion with you, it's not operative.

gravida
Chatter
Chatter

Post by gravida » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 7:36 pm

Most likely it is not, but I am not a lawyer. Couple of years ago I've been in the similar situation and visited the lawyer. I've been told that unless such agreement has a clear time frame (2 years is quite long, the lawyer mentioned max. 1 year, depending on the industry) AND the compensation is given, it is not valid.

nakatago

Post by nakatago » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 7:42 pm

Such clauses are common in IT R&D though I'm not sure even if it's strictly enforced. Engineers jump ship all the time and I haven't heard anyone I know personally who's been prevented from joining another company.
"A quokka is what would happen if there was an anime about kangaroos."

Saint
Director
Director

Post by Saint » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 8:06 pm

Here's a previous thread that discussed this issue

http://forum.singaporeexpats.com/ftopic65135.html

Addadude
Reporter
Reporter
Answers: 1

Post by Addadude » Mon, 19 Apr 2010 10:05 pm

For what it's worth I've went through the same experience in my first job in Singapore (many years ago). In my case there was a 1-year clause.