Singapore Expats Forum

Advice needed! Jobs market and EPEC / PEP applications

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
zamzam123

Advice needed! Jobs market and EPEC / PEP applications

Postby zamzam123 » Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:09 am

Hi,

I am 30, female, British, moving to Singapore at end Q1 2010 because I love it here and need a change from London. I thought this would be relatively straightforward but after reading some of the posts on the site I'm a bit concerned about being able to find a job. I'm not being relocated with a company and don't have the opportunity to be.

I have a Masters Degree from University of London (in Media & Comms) and have 8 years work experience in marketing all in London but working with global clients (4 years in a global firm, and 4 years in an agency at which I am a Company Director). The plan is to get an EPEC and then apply for a PEP when (if!) I get a job offer. I meet the PEP criteria.

I've read on here that it's hard to even get a job in the first place as a foreigner and that even when you get an offer the employers EP application can be rejected. Is that the same for a PEP? Does the employer make that application?

So far I've registered with about 6 online agencies but it's a bit early to be applying for jobs as I won't be in Singapore until March for interviews.

Any advice would be appreciated about the reality of getting a professional job in Singapore in marketing / business development / events organising at the moment?

Thanks in advance!

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 05 Jan 2010 10:46 am