Singapore Expats Forum

Google Chrome

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
blue_thunder
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu, 19 Jul 2007
Location: Waveless beach

Postby blue_thunder » Thu, 24 Dec 2009 11:01 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:I haven't tried the DBS site yet (will try this evening) but the IRAS site does not work in FF or Chrome. However, if you install IE in a FF/Chrome Tab Extension it works okay (provided you don't have IE8 installed. IRAS site will not run on IE8. I had to rollback to IE6 as the IETabs in FF/Chrome use the DLL's of IE to run. DBS runs fine in FF for me though without the IE Tab activated.


IRAS or any other https sites works fine because it doesnt invoke any JRE. I dont have IE cos its a Mac :lol:
~ I don't want to be a product of my environment, I want my environment to be a product of me

caireann
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu, 24 Dec 2009

Postby caireann » Sat, 26 Dec 2009 8:25 am

sundaymorningstaple wrote:Then upgrade.
Why?
W2000 runs just fine.
Its the fault of the software producers that they havent produced a W2000 version.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Google Chrome

Postby Plavt » Sat, 26 Dec 2009 9:06 am

blue_thunder wrote:It was faster for the first few days but now lags like FF/Safari. most of the bank sites are blocking chrome (eg. DBS) .


Mine is still ok, no problems with banking site (and the one I use is a real tatty bank IMHO), video streaming ok. I am on cable so have a fast connection but don't know what you or anybody else is using in Singapore.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sat, 26 Dec 2009 9:08 am

caireann wrote:Its the fault of the software producers that they havent produced a W2000 version.


Why should they?.......

User avatar
blue_thunder
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu, 19 Jul 2007
Location: Waveless beach

Re: Google Chrome

Postby blue_thunder » Sat, 26 Dec 2009 12:44 pm

Plavt wrote:
blue_thunder wrote:It was faster for the first few days but now lags like FF/Safari. most of the bank sites are blocking chrome (eg. DBS) .


Mine is still ok, no problems with banking site (and the one I use is a real tatty bank IMHO), video streaming ok. I am on cable so have a fast connection but don't know what you or anybody else is using in Singapore.


Well most of the local & foreign bank logins work fine except the DBS while I click on login.
Image
~ I don't want to be a product of my environment, I want my environment to be a product of me

User avatar
pixfirewall
Regular
Regular
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue, 29 Apr 2008

Re: Google Chrome

Postby pixfirewall » Thu, 21 Jan 2010 3:37 am

blue_thunder wrote:
Plavt wrote:
blue_thunder wrote:It was faster for the first few days but now lags like FF/Safari. most of the bank sites are blocking chrome (eg. DBS) .


Mine is still ok, no problems with banking site (and the one I use is a real tatty bank IMHO), video streaming ok. I am on cable so have a fast connection but don't know what you or anybody else is using in Singapore.


Well most of the local & foreign bank logins work fine except the DBS while I click on login.
Image


mine works just fine with DBS website and i can do internet banking...
google chrome version i'm using is 3.0.195.38

Maybe you just need to update it..
pixfirewall
IM & email: dccruzjr@msn.com

User avatar
blue_thunder
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu, 19 Jul 2007
Location: Waveless beach

Postby blue_thunder » Thu, 21 Jan 2010 8:09 am

I dont think so..

I m using 4.0.xxx
~ I don't want to be a product of my environment, I want my environment to be a product of me

User avatar
nakatago
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8333
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Sister Margaret’s School for Wayward Children
Contact:

Postby nakatago » Thu, 21 Jan 2010 8:33 am

I think the problem is a lot of bloody webdevs still assume that everybody only use bloody internet explorer (and IE6 is the most non-compliant of standards of the mainstream browsers). It's bad enough that a lot of these only work on Windows but IE6?!?

Ok, rant over...

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11044
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 21 Jan 2010 1:42 pm

I absolutely HATE IE6/7. What kind of crap is it that you type in a URL that is readily accessible in FF, only to get the message, "website is unavailable".

Then, doing a google search, one sees posts back to 2005 with the same crap... and 5 years later... same crap. FMS!

But FF people are moving towards bloatware... 3.5 is slow to load, slow to quit... and memory footprint is nothing to write home about.

amarettoSour
Regular
Regular
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed, 21 Oct 2009

Postby amarettoSour » Sat, 23 Jan 2010 2:00 am

i switched from FF to chrome last year.. never looked back.

User avatar
x9200
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9313
Joined: Mon, 07 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby x9200 » Sat, 23 Jan 2010 6:16 am

basuoct26 wrote:Unfortunately the IRAS site won't run in FF or Chrome using and IE tab as the tabs actually use the dll's of the version of IE running on your PC[/b]

What iras site? For personal income tax filling? I had no such problems with linux based Mozilla and FF.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest