Singapore Expats Forum

Can you get a PR if you are a Freelancer?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
jocaps

Can you get a PR if you are a Freelancer?

Postby jocaps » Sat, 07 Nov 2009 3:51 am

Hi Forum,

I know I can become a professional freelancer (I am a mathematical programmer) and I know I can get costumers. I am currently living in central Europe and I will probably will be working as a freelancer here. But I want to move to Singapore because it's nearer to my country (the Philippines) even though the conditions and pay here are a tad bit better than in Singapore. I already have candidate costumers for a freelance job and I thought of applying EPEC and then move to Singapore (this is no problem). But the question is, can I use my freelance job (which I can bring anywhere with me around the world) and apply as a PR afterwards? My initial costumers would probably be European companies, will that be a problem? Is there a place where I can be informed about this?

The only problem I see in singapore is that many companies want to have employees that are PR's.. yet you need to start your PR when you are hired, it is very contradicting. I wouldn't have this problem freelancers are allowed to apply as a PR.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Sat, 07 Nov 2009 6:51 am

No, not as a freelancer. You need an employment pass first (or an entrepass). Without as much, you're sitting high and dry.

jocaps

Postby jocaps » Sat, 07 Nov 2009 6:38 pm

Isn't employment pass.. my EPEC application? If it is, then it's not a problem because I know I can get it. My problem is when I have an EP (or EPEC??) then can I apply as a PR even if I am not hired by a company but a freelancer with contracts under several companies (which aren't necessarily singaporean or have to do with singapore).

Oh.. and is this thread supposed to be in the Carreer/Job Category? Sorry for that.