Singapore Expats Forum

How does one do a visa run?

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

robatron6k

How does one do a visa run?

Postby robatron6k » Sat, 24 Oct 2009 5:36 am

Okay, i think this may be a stupid question, but my 90 day visit pass comes to an end on nov 13, and i would really like to stay with my girlfriend here in Singapore. I've heard talk about visa runs to get another 90 day VP, but im not sure exactly how to do one.

My question is how does one do a visa run? do i need to wait till my visa is up to get a new VP or can i do it before, and how long do i have to stay out of the country? is there anything else i need to know? i am really new to all of this so any info would be greatly appreciated!

thanks in advance,
Rob

econoMIC
Chatter
Chatter

Postby econoMIC » Sat, 24 Oct 2009 4:19 pm

Use the search function. It has been discussed many times before. You can leave the country whenever you want before expiry of the 90 days as a tourist.
a.k.a. littlegreenman

robatron6k

Postby robatron6k » Sat, 24 Oct 2009 9:48 pm

but all the searches i turn up with ppl speak of them like they already know what they are and how to do em. plus i get a lot of out of dat info. please help i am getting so much conflicting info on the subject. I am a us citizen if that information is at all important.

merichan
Chatter
Chatter

Postby merichan » Sat, 24 Oct 2009 10:32 pm

A day trip anywhere near... just accross in Malaysia, shopping day in HK will do the trick

Be aware however that at some point when you have done a few of them ( a few being a fluctuating definition...) ... they gonna start asking questions and can refuse you entry.

jpatokal

Postby jpatokal » Sat, 24 Oct 2009 11:32 pm