Singapore Expats Forum

CONFUSED! Partner has job but what visa do I need?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
love2travel

CONFUSED! Partner has job but what visa do I need?

Postby love2travel » Wed, 14 Oct 2009 11:44 pm

Hi,

I know there is lots of information on here already and I have been trying to read everything but I am just getting myself more and more confused - can you please help!

My partner (unmarried) has got a teaching job in Singapore and we're moving out in December. As we are unmarried I can't apply for a dependant pass or get any help.

Can anyone help me as to what visa I need to apply for?

I am British, I work as a Recruitment Consultant and will be looking for any Admin/Secretarial/PA/Recruitment positions - I have about 5 years experience.

Can I apply for a visa without having a job to go to? I am looking around for jobs but haven't managed to find anything yet.

Any help you can provide would be very much appreciated.

THANK YOU!

bex_140

moving to singapore

Postby bex_140 » Thu, 15 Oct 2009 3:20 am

Hi there

I am in a similar situation - moving to Singapore from the UK with my boyfriend in January. I have applied for an EPEC which allows you to go to Singapore to seek employment and then have applied for a social visit pass to actually allow me to come and stay for a year to find a job. Hope that helps as a place to start. Maybe this is an option for you?

Rebecca

econoMIC
Chatter
Chatter

Postby econoMIC » Thu, 15 Oct 2009 3:14 pm

@love2travel: please do not double post in the future. I already replied to your other thread.
a.k.a. littlegreenman

love2travel

Postby love2travel » Thu, 15 Oct 2009 5:03 pm

Sorry for the double posting but this was more about visas and the other about a job! I don't want to p*ss anyone off!

Thanks for the info Rebecca - I'll have a look at those options.

Where is your boyfriend teaching?

Claire

arian