Singapore Expats Forum

resident/ visitor

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

ozchick
Editor
Editor

resident/ visitor

Postby ozchick » Tue, 13 Oct 2009 9:31 pm

Going home for a 'visit' soon and apparently have to tick the 'visitor's box on arrival card. How can I be a visitor to my own country?
Previously I've been given conflicting advice about this at the Melbourne end. Some officials at immigration there say I can tick either box. Others say " Nah you're a visitor". Others don't seem to know or care.
But an Aussie colleague who's been here in Sg for 14 yrs says that I can't be a resident here and there as well ? Why can't I?
Never know what to tick cos surely I'm a resident of my own country since my house is there and I come and go as I please from Sg to Oz. What do you guys all do?
'Are you trying to tempt me because I come from the land of plenty?'

ksl
Governor
Governor

Re: resident/ visitor

Postby ksl » Tue, 13 Oct 2009 10:09 pm

ozchick wrote:Going home for a 'visit' soon and apparently have to tick the 'visitor's box on arrival card. How can I be a visitor to my own country?
Previously I've been given conflicting advice about this at the Melbourne end. Some officials at immigration there say I can tick either box. Others say " Nah you're a visitor". Others don't seem to know or care.
But an Aussie colleague who's been here in Sg for 14 yrs says that I can't be a resident here and there as well ? Why can't I?
Never know what to tick cos surely I'm a resident of my own country since my house is there and I come and go as I please from Sg to Oz. What do you guys all do?
If you notified the Australian authorities, of your move to Singapore, you would be taken off the electoral role, after the 183 day rule, you loose your right of residence. And even though you have a house there, you are still non residing in accordance with the laws.