Singapore Expats

How is singapore IT market?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
yshashidhar

How is singapore IT market?

Post by yshashidhar » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 8:41 pm

hi

I am a software engineer working for MNC in India. I am now in UK from over 1-year and I see I am eligible for EP pass.
I would like to know the current market situation in Singapore to get a IT job. Please could any one help me to estimate this, those who are in searching please share your experience.

Thank you so much in advance for your reply.

Saint
Director
Director

Post by Saint » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 8:46 pm

And what makes you think you are eligible for a EP?

yshashidhar

Post by yshashidhar » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 8:50 pm

I have visited MOM's site recently, what I understand is I can take EP Certificate (kind of eligibility certificate) now. There after I need to apply for 1-year visa for search in Singapore.
Once I get job/sponsor, I can apply for EP Visa.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Saint
Director
Director

Post by Saint » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 8:58 pm

I'm afraid you are slightly wrong

What I believe you are referring to an EPEC which will allow you to apply for a 1 year social visitor's pass which lets you look for work. Even if you get a job offer, the EPEC no way guarantees you will get an EP, and it's the Company that applies for the EP, not you.

yshashidhar

Post by yshashidhar » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 9:02 pm

Thanks for the reply saint.

I am quite interested to work in Singapore, right now I am earning over 4500 SD in London. I can submit my payslips from past one year, wherever applicable.

Can you suggest/redirect to the information on eligible Visa types to search for IT jobs in Singapore?

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 18 Aug 2009 10:06 pm

yshashidhar wrote: