Singapore Expats Forum

Appeal against PR Rejection (No Timeline to reapply)

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
dex.

Appeal against PR Rejection (No Timeline to reapply)

Postby dex. » Mon, 17 Aug 2009 1:19 am

Hi Everyone,
I have been working in Singapore for 1 year and 6 months as Software Engineer.
I started my Master Degree course in NUS this Jan 09
Salary is 3K on Q1 pass
I Filled my tax.
I also consider my CV good as I come from a research background
I Attached all the document and I got the PR Rejection letter last month with no date mentioned to re-apply (no 6 months or 1 year)

I have 2 Questions.

What do you think was the reason?
Can I appeal against rejection? If yes then on what basis.

The difference between this time and last time application could be
1. Some document saying Tax is Submitted
2. A bond with MOE (Ministry of Manpower)
Bond states that I have to work in SG based company for three more years after my degree, meaning in other way I have already committed 5 years in SG. 2 years for degree + 3 for Job

Do you think bond is a good thing to attach with the appeal?

Cheers!
dex.

littlegreenman
Chatter
Chatter

Postby littlegreenman » Mon, 17 Aug 2009 4:10 am

Hi there,

at the moment all the EP holders who wanted to avoid paying CPF before are rushing to apply for PR, so ICA is flooded with these kind of applications. While I am not saying you are such a case, you still get pretty much the treatment the majority seem to be getting now: come back in a while and try again so they can see whether you really want to be a PR with all associated rights and duties or do you just want to secure your stay in Singapore? You can appeal but so far I think this generally doesn't help much.