Singapore Expats Forum

Broadband with static IP

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
londontosingapore
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri, 24 Jul 2009

Broadband with static IP

Postby londontosingapore » Sat, 25 Jul 2009 7:21 am

Hello - we're moving to Singapore and I'm doing a bit of research ahead of arrival: can anyone recommend a broadband service that provides a Static IP Address (so I can host my own email server). I looked at the Starhub and Singtel websites but not very informative... Many thanks!

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Sat, 25 Jul 2009 10:44 am

As far as i know Singtel Magix is the only service offering a static IP for home users
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/produc ... f_rate.asp

you could also use one of the services like " NO IP" or "DYNDNS" to achieve the same

http://www.no-ip.com/

http://www.dyndns.com/

good luck

londontosingapore
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri, 24 Jul 2009

Postby londontosingapore » Mon, 17 Aug 2009 11:13 pm

Many thanks but it's not clear that this provides a static IP... I contacted customer support and even they mentioned that they do no provide Static IP to customers.... If I do find a solution I will post it here for the benefit of anyone else in a similar situation as us.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10728
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 17 Aug 2009 11:51 pm

None of these folks really wants to issue a static IP because that means you run your own server, and that means your bandwidth might be way different than the average home stiff.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Wed, 19 Aug 2009 1:31 am

Magix is definately a static IP ...correction it was when i last used it 2 years ago. It has to be as it's an ATM connection ( not standard ADSL)
Problem with Magix aside from the high monthly fee is it's time limited as well which can be expensive.

The two choices you have is to register and setup up your own dot comdot sg which can be quite cheap if you shop around or look into the DYNDNS service which supports email redirects too.

All Netgear and most LINKSYS modem routers have auto login function to DYNDNS so as long as your modem is on the service knows your IP.

Good luck

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Wed, 19 Aug 2009 2:17 pm

For home or office? There is another company called Qala you might like to contact but their coverage might be limited.

tllau
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon, 10 Nov 2008
Location: Singapore

Broadband fixed IP for IP PBX (Phone)

Postby tllau » Tue, 16 Mar 2010 5:01 pm

Will whatever you suggest work for IP PBX too? A vendor recommends IP PBX for my small home office but require fixed IP. I have the normal home broadband so just wonder if I can work around the IP problem.

stiwi
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue, 01 Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby stiwi » Sun, 21 Mar 2010 1:28 am

By the way, Singnet doesn't allow to apply for Magix anymore as I checked recently.

manutdfan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu, 17 Dec 2009

Re: Broadband with static IP

Postby manutdfan » Sun, 21 Mar 2010 5:55 pm

londontosingapore wrote:Hello - we're moving to Singapore and I'm doing a bit of research ahead of arrival: can anyone recommend a broadband service that provides a Static IP Address (so I can host my own email server). I looked at the Starhub and Singtel websites but not very informative... Many thanks!


You might find it easier and cheaper to buy a virtual host or even a real server from someone like Hetzner or Bytemark (both companies I'm using at the moment - no affiliations beyond being a reasonably happy customer).

Of course that means connecting over the internet to a server in Europe for your email... and using Linux....

SmartDude
Member
Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu, 11 Dec 2008

Postby SmartDude » Thu, 08 Apr 2010 7:57 pm

Try to look at pacnet and Qmax websites. I see their advertisements stating static IP, but can't remember for home user or business. Here static IP is provided if you take business plan which is costly than home one or to save money use dynamic DNS.... Sorry if i made any mistake..

User avatar
$Pripps
Member
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed, 24 Mar 2010

Postby $Pripps » Fri, 09 Apr 2010 8:58 am

an alternative is to use dyndns (google) it allows for mapping of a domain name to a dynamic ip address, this allows you to have a server at home but without the need for a static ip address from your ISP, and its free.
Everybody already knows what it is, so there's not much point in saying it - Simpsons

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Sat, 10 Apr 2010 12:18 pm

http://www.dyndns.com/ works fine in Europe, never tried it out here.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests