Singapore Expats Forum

Is anyone using StarHub mobile broadband?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
ziczac
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 28 Jun 2009

Is anyone using StarHub mobile broadband?

Postby ziczac » Sun, 28 Jun 2009 6:43 pm

I have been using this service for 3 months and found that the speed is getting slow, both upload and download speed, usually just have 10-30 kb/s and recently 5-10kb/s.

This is ridiculous as I m not using any donwload software but only use firefox to browse yahoo and it took me a minute to load everything of the page.

Do anyone have a situation like this? btw, i use it in serangoon central so it shud be no signal problem here...i think.....

If you are going to apply this service i would suggest not to do as I have signed a 2 years contract for that with a rubbish service like this.

IronMac
Regular
Regular
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon, 04 May 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby IronMac » Tue, 30 Jun 2009 11:16 am

I use the M1 Mobile Broadband service and it can depend on many factors. Where I have seen a strong slowdown in speeds is in certain parts of the city and almost as importantly in which part of the house I was in. I would suggest moving around your place to see if there is a sweet spot in terms of connectivity.

Alternatively, you can bite the bullet and terminate early your service.

noel43
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat, 16 Feb 2008

Postby noel43 » Tue, 30 Jun 2009 1:00 pm

I'm using this starhub service and staying woodlands area. The speed will slowdown once a while, but in average, still consider good enough to surf internet: read email, watch youtube, browse forum..

ziczac
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 28 Jun 2009

Postby ziczac » Wed, 01 Jul 2009 11:32 pm

well, actaully the speed is not important anymore as this crappy service is now just keeps 0 kbps for both upload and download for a long time especially from 8-11pm, this is the only period I use internet everyday and now the situation is getting worse. I reli got frustrated about it. Oh, i spent 5 mins to get into this reply page and i don't know how long it would take to post it to the forum.

I think I m gonna change the plan rather than keep using this crappy mobile boardband.

pennant
Regular
Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu, 11 Aug 2005

Postby pennant » Thu, 02 Jul 2009 11:56 am

hi, which plan are you using ?
i'm using the 7mps, so far so good
A wise man can see more from the bottom of a well than a fool can from a mountain top

notyesnot
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon, 21 Apr 2008

Postby notyesnot » Mon, 06 Jul 2009 10:31 am

Hey pal,

no worries let me help you on this issues as I also trouble shoot my own connection for my Strahub maxmobile Since the CSO is worse then me..

Alright first of all which model is u modem? What is the colour of the light when the device is connected? blue? cyan? green? light green?

What is the signal level is u house as indicated on the software that is use to connect to the network eg. WCDMA? HSPA? GPRS? EDGE?

I will be able to guide you thru on how to get it better..

Jano
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat, 19 Feb 2011

Postby Jano » Tue, 08 Mar 2011 8:13 pm

Is it possible to get a refund?

I first tried M1. It sucked. 7.2Mbit broadband is a lie! Then StarHub which is even worse

fumblyfumbler
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat, 28 May 2011
Location: Singapore

Postby fumblyfumbler » Sat, 28 May 2011 8:55 pm

No it's not possible to get a refund. From my experience, we'll need to pay the "penalty"; i.e. balance of the contract in order to terminate the line.

I don't recommend getting mobile broadband due to the congestion in the mobile network for all operators. However, if you really need to get a mobile broadband plan, go for M1 or Singtel. Never Starhub.

Starhub has this habit of limiting download speeds. And I've observed in my connection that they'll throttle my speed EVERYDAY upon reaching around 900 to 1.1GB data downloaded.

User avatar
the lynx
Governor
Governor
Posts: 5251
Joined: Thu, 09 Dec 2010
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby the lynx » Fri, 03 Jun 2011 4:28 pm

fumblyfumbler wrote:No it's not possible to get a refund. From my experience, we'll need to pay the "penalty"; i.e. balance of the contract in order to terminate the line.

I don't recommend getting mobile broadband due to the congestion in the mobile network for all operators. However, if you really need to get a mobile broadband plan, go for M1 or Singtel. Never Starhub.

Starhub has this habit of limiting download speeds. And I've observed in my connection that they'll throttle my speed EVERYDAY upon reaching around 900 to 1.1GB data downloaded.


Well I wouldn't recommend M1 either. Currently using the mobile broadband plan and the connectivity is very unstable. I heard people said it is due to the locations so I tried using it in Woodlands, Dover and everywhere. Not good either :(

But I do hear good remarks on Singtel ones. Looks like you're down to Singtel. Good luck.

IronMac
Regular
Regular
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon, 04 May 2009
Location: Singapore

Postby IronMac » Mon, 06 Jun 2011 8:45 pm

I have M1 mobile broadband service through my iPhone and it can be a bit flaky, especially when it rains. But, oddly enough, sometimes the speeds have been incredibly good.

I use Singtel for home broadband and their service and speeds have been pretty good. M1 is just my backup.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10728
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 06 Jun 2011 10:01 pm

I have generally been very satisfied with Starhub mobile broadband. As I cannot access client networks, it has been my communication with the outside world in many major office buildings and it works without issues to at least 35 floors up.

I have had a few outage issues... like today... kept dropping at Suntec, 25th floor... then again, my Singtel data via my iPhone is much worse... can't even get a 3G symbol 25 stories up.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Tue, 07 Jun 2011 12:10 am

Infocomm and partners are responsible for the wireless set up. Suntec has probably been over looked and not enough complaints put in. It's kind of like the Bermuda triangle in Suntec, for signal blocking and Starhub don't appear to be in the package, cannot see their logo only 3 are showing. Singtel M1 and Icell. though i haven't read through the website, so i don't know. A 3G software application management system may have to be activated in the area.

Probably if people complained enough something might get done, it is an important area with the exhibition area, so it may also be a deliberate move not to improve the communictions inside to prevent free surfing. I know we have to purchase when exhibitions are on, has the free wirless is not available.

Punters must pay for it when the exhibitions are operating. Shows you the coverage on here if you type in Suntec it's almost on all low floors.

Woodlands is bad also for picking up signals.

http://wireless.infocomm123.sg/

User avatar
aster
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri, 15 Jan 2010

Postby aster » Tue, 07 Jun 2011 12:18 am

My experience with Starhub is by far the worst of any of the networks here. I use M1 as a back up (iPad) and it has served me well, but am moving everything including phone #s and mobile internet to Singtel.

User avatar
BillyB
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri, 23 Jul 2010
Location: My laptop

Postby BillyB » Tue, 07 Jun 2011 12:35 am

ksl wrote:Infocomm and partners are responsible for the wireless set up. Suntec has probably been over looked and not enough complaints put in. It's kind of like the Bermuda triangle in Suntec, for signal blocking and Starhub don't appear to be in the package, cannot see their logo only 3 are showing. Singtel M1 and Icell. though i haven't read through the website, so i don't know. A 3G software application management system may have to be activated in the area.

Probably if people complained enough something might get done, it is an important area with the exhibition area, so it may also be a deliberate move not to improve the communictions inside to prevent free surfing. I know we have to purchase when exhibitions are on, has the free wirless is not available.

Punters must pay for it when the exhibitions are operating. Shows you the coverage on here if you type in Suntec it's almost on all low floors.

Woodlands is bad also for picking up signals.

http://wireless.infocomm123.sg/


Ain't that the truth. It's a well known trick for hotels and exhibition halls to block out external signal so you have to use their services and that can cost you anything from S$50 to S$500 for 1 day access if you require a high speed connection.

blogtowkay
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue, 07 Jun 2011
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using StarHub mobile broadband?

Postby blogtowkay » Tue, 07 Jun 2011 1:05 pm

ziczac wrote:I have been using this service for 3 months and found that the speed is getting slow, both upload and download speed, usually just have 10-30 kb/s and recently 5-10kb/s.

This is ridiculous as I m not using any donwload software but only use firefox to browse yahoo and it took me a minute to load everything of the page.

Do anyone have a situation like this? btw, i use it in serangoon central so it shud be no signal problem here...i think.....

If you are going to apply this service i would suggest not to do as I have signed a 2 years contract for that with a rubbish service like this.


same problems i experienced. m planning to go back to Singtel once the contract is up. Starhub is really slowwww compared to Singtel in my experience.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest