Singapore Expats Forum

LPR - guaranteeed path to PR?

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
cyxm

LPR - guaranteeed path to PR?

Postby cyxm » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 5:22 pm

I'm a fresh grad from a foreign uni and I've been notified that my LPR application has been approved. I'd like to know if there are any requirements when finding a job and if there is a minimum salary that you must earn in order to obtain the full PR. Or any full time job would do? My approval letter did not mention any of these except that I need an employment letter.
Thks in advance.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 6:01 pm

I know you can get it with a 1200/mo job. Several of my staff have done so in the past.

cyxm

Postby cyxm » Fri, 26 Jun 2009 1:11 am

Oh. So it doesnt restrict us from choosing a job from any field? Or should we find a job according to the degree that you have? and i'm wondering if the requirements actually changed cuz of the recession

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 26 Jun 2009 7:17 am

Nope. Doesn't matter. All you need is a job. However, I don't know where the bottom of the acceptability scale is. I know $1200/mo as a admin assistant allowed one of my staff recently to obtain her PR (she was on an LPR having graduated from a diploma course here in Singapore).

sms

cpa100

Postby cpa100 » Thu, 20 Aug 2009 3:59 pm

Hello, my girlfriend is from China (studied Bachelor and Master in Australia). She had used the LPR "route" to get PR and Citizenship within 2.5 years. Here is the timeline:

2006 Dec - Grad in Australia
2007 Jan - Apply LPR
2007 Apr - Approved LPR
2007 May - Move to Singapore
2007 Aug - Start working (she was fresh grad, that was not a good job, not good pay also! But just to aim to get PR first!)
2007 Oct - Approved PR
2008 Dec - Applied Citizenship
2009 Jun - Approved Citizenship