Singapore Expats Forum

Dynamic is & Static ip

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

Dynamic is & Static ip

Postby hanskhang » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 2:45 pm

For singnet i think they are dynamic ip. If u need static ip u need pay alot more cost. For this Starhub is static ip i think. maybe anyone can comfirm this for us ? Thank you

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10736
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 3:29 pm

No, Starhub is dynamic IP as well.

User avatar
sierra2469alpha
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue, 27 Feb 2007
Location: Singapore (Finally!)

Postby sierra2469alpha » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 3:49 pm

Singtel is static if it's a business or corporate package from what they tell me (and what we experienced setting up the new office here).

HTH, Mr. P.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 6:08 pm

All private residence ISP's are dynamic with the exception of singtel Magix ( which is considerably more expensive)

Tell us what you need because there's a few work arounds that might work for you.


Cheers

hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

Hi all

Postby hanskhang » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 6:43 pm

thank for the replied ^^. but why my friend is using starhub and he say his ip not changing ? and he is not using business plan and didnt pay extra. his plan is jus only $40+ . isit all starhub maxonline is static? because u need static to host a game. But my singtel line ip address keep changing :( any1 can help ? or i heard some1 say use this no-ip ?

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 8:31 pm

starhub use DHCP (dynamic) and yes, it will renew itself even if the router is ON 24/7.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Re: Hi all

Postby bigfilsing » Wed, 24 Jun 2009 8:58 pm

hanskhang wrote:thank for the replied ^^. but why my friend is using starhub and he say his ip not changing ? and he is not using business plan and didnt pay extra. his plan is jus only $40+ . isit all starhub maxonline is static? because u need static to host a game. But my singtel line ip address keep changing :( any1 can help ? or i heard some1 say use this no-ip ?


Ok so you want to host a game.

Couple of options.

1/ although it's a dynamic IP your IP doesn;t actually change that much. So if you find out your external IP to the world ( usually in your router or modem info) you can host a game.

SO people say that certain ISP's change the dynamic IP when they monitor regular up and down stream activity ( a game or torrent file) No idea if this is true
2/ You can install a piece of software that notifies an external forwading site what you IP is at all times and redirects traffic to you. No-IP or DYN DNS or similar.
You would have to make sure incoming ports were open and indeed go to the correct PC ( if you have more than one computer sharing your home network)

3/ Some modem routers ( Netgear that i know for sure ) have a setting that does the updating to DYN DNS for you ( so you dont need a piece of software installed and running on your PC). You make an account with DYN DNS. Put the account details in the modem router and it constantly updates the DYN DNS service for you.
Very useful for remote desk top VNC systems and similar.

For example http://bigfilsing.dyndns.org/TREX%20H50 ... build.html
points to a "how to" i made for the RC helicopter guys last year. No matter what my IP is my router unpdates the dyndns service ( free) so anybody clicking that link always connects to an old linux PC i have hosting web stuff

Most games i know of use a lobby system. If you intend to try a SADS system then you might just be able to get it to work via one of the many dynamic DNS services out there but you'd need to do some game specific research first.

Good luck

hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

No-ip

Postby hanskhang » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 3:10 am

isit true ? this no-ip works for dynamic ip ? ok thanks i go and try out :P but i think need alot set up :D should be very difficult ^^

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Re: No-ip

Postby bigfilsing » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 11:12 am

hanskhang wrote:isit true ? this no-ip works for dynamic ip ? ok thanks i go and try out :P but i think need alot set up :D should be very difficult ^^


no-ip is made to do exactly what you want....track your dynamic IP.

Easy steps
1. set up a no ip account
http://www.no-ip.com/services/managed_d ... c_dns.html
2. download and install the no-ip client.
This needs to be installed and running on your PC ( of course it also needs details of the account you set up in step 1)
http://www.no-ip.com/downloads.php

The tricky bit is setting port forwarding to allow access to and from your PC . The ports in your PC and modem router are protected by firewalls
either software ( windows firewall ) or hardware in your modem/router.

In order to play a game or use remote desktop you need to open the ports for each piece of software you want use.
Can be quite a pain but you're in luck . Theres a web site that explains how and what for most router/modems and games!!!
http://portforward.com/

Good luck

hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

haha

Postby hanskhang » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 2:44 pm

wow.. u are loook like very expierence on this no-ip.. u did this b4? very prO:D i wil go try on it ^^ if cannot then i come again hehe.. btw tyvm ^^
or u can help me on teamviewer remote for me set up for me? i really need a big help on this. u can add me on my msn ( hanskhang258@hotmail.com )

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 3:23 pm

Hardly a pro mate. I've just spent a lot of time messing with this stuff over the years and might be able to save you some time.

If you want specific help you need to provide more info.

What is teamviewer remote. What game are you trying t set up.
The more info you provide the better quality answers you'll get

Cheers

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 5:00 pm

what help do you need on teamviewer? it is already so easy to use!

hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

yo

Postby hanskhang » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 8:55 pm

i want to host old game > Pristontale. i host before.. but i use hamachi to host the server.. now i need to take off this hamachi. because alot of my gamers dont like this hamachi. And hamachi i think got limit. now i try to use the no-ip for the static ip.. but i dont have static. jus now i call starhub technical support they say to me starhub Maxonline their ip is different with Singnet. their ip if i didnt off my modem, the ip wont change. But for Singnet is always change although i didnt off my pc they still change. i need to comfirm with some guys is that true ? if this is true i will go apply 1 more starhub broadband. so i can host the game well already. for the no-ip i go tried, im so blur.. dunno so many port. is some guys can help on me and teamview remote for me set -up the no-ip for me is great. :???:

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Thu, 25 Jun 2009 9:32 pm

what's wrong with hamachi? hamachi would be your better option as that will give you a static private IP on your WAN dynamic IP. the other option is no-ip or dynamic DNS. you need to STFW more on how to set them up and play less games. :)

hanskhang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed, 24 Jun 2009

ahhh

Postby hanskhang » Fri, 26 Jun 2009 3:17 am

i dont play so much game :( im jus try to host for the game and jus need the static ip.. well, btw tyvm for helping ^^


Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests