Singapore Expats Forum

Laptop (Dell) is about to die - Can anyone help ??

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
Jedi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue, 13 Sep 2005

Postby Jedi » Mon, 06 Jul 2009 12:05 pm

Take a look through this - seems like you should be able to get replacement backup cds from dell:
http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&s ... =&aq=f&oq=

64 bit OS will only work if your CPU is 64 bit and even then I wouldn't recommend it unless you have some idea what you are doing. :)

louy
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2008

Postby louy » Thu, 09 Jul 2009 4:34 pm

This is Dell in USA. I already phoned Dell in Singapore and they were helpless.

I phoned Dell in UK, and they said they will only send out replacement CD if I sign up to a new warrently plan cause my warranty has expired.

Price of the plan is 130quid GBP. I am assuming that the price of the CD in the shops is gonna cost 129GBP.

Not exactly sure what I am going to do yet.



Jedi wrote:Take a look through this - seems like you should be able to get replacement backup cds from dell:
http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&s ... =&aq=f&oq=

64 bit OS will only work if your CPU is 64 bit and even then I wouldn't recommend it unless you have some idea what you are doing. :)

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Fri, 10 Jul 2009 11:40 pm

louy wrote:This is Dell in USA. I already phoned Dell in Singapore and they were helpless.

I phoned Dell in UK, and they said they will only send out replacement CD if I sign up to a new warrently plan cause my warranty has expired.

Price of the plan is 130quid GBP. I am assuming that the price of the CD in the shops is gonna cost 129GBP.

Not exactly sure what I am going to do yet.



Jedi wrote:Take a look through this - seems like you should be able to get replacement backup cds from dell:
http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&s ... =&aq=f&oq=

64 bit OS will only work if your CPU is 64 bit and even then I wouldn't recommend it unless you have some idea what you are doing. :)
Do you want me to have a look at it? or just remove the hard disk and have it scanned externally, tell them you suspect virus and can they scan it for everything. If you can get to the dos command promt, you can have a good look around for hidden drives that may have the operating system on.

louy
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2008

Postby louy » Sat, 11 Jul 2009 10:40 pm

ksl wrote: Do you want me to have a look at it? or just remove the hard disk and have it scanned externally, tell them you suspect virus and can they scan it for everything. If you can get to the dos command promt, you can have a good look around for hidden drives that may have the operating system on.


It would be great if you could have a look. Need some way to fix my machine and I really do not know much about computers

User avatar
finetune
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 13 Jul 2009
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby finetune » Mon, 13 Jul 2009 2:41 pm

Hi louy,

You can try this to salvage your sickly laptop without reinstalling Windows or asking Dell for help.

1. When booting up, press F5 or F8 repeatedly when you see the Dell splash screen.
2. Instead of going to the Last Known Settings, select Boot in Safe Mode.
3. When you're Windows (hopefully), select 'Start', then 'Run'
4. Type 'msconfig' in the box
5. Under the 'General' tab, uncheck 'Load Startup items'
6. Under the 'Services' tab, check 'Hide all Microsoft services'. Then click 'Disable All'. Then click 'Close'
7. Click 'Restart'
8. This time boot up using the Last Known Settings.
9. If you manage to enter Windows, you can install the spyware and virus scanners suggested by other forum users to fix the problem.

louy
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2008

Postby louy » Mon, 13 Jul 2009 3:03 pm

finetune wrote:Hi louy,

You can try this to salvage your sickly laptop without reinstalling Windows or asking Dell for help.

1. When booting up, press F5 or F8 repeatedly when you see the Dell splash screen.
2. Instead of going to the Last Known Settings, select Boot in Safe Mode.
3. When you're Windows (hopefully), select 'Start', then 'Run'
4. Type 'msconfig' in the box
5. Under the 'General' tab, uncheck 'Load Startup items'
6. Under the 'Services' tab, check 'Hide all Microsoft services'. Then click 'Disable All'. Then click 'Close'
7. Click 'Restart'
8. This time boot up using the Last Known Settings.
9. If you manage to enter Windows, you can install the spyware and virus scanners suggested by other forum users to fix the problem.


Thanks for that. I had tried that once before, and also tried to get the computer to restore factory settings as well.

On trying both of these, the whole computer screen went blue.

I left it on the blue screen for a while. Nothing happened, so I just shut down and gave up.

I will try it again tonight,

Thanks

User avatar
finetune
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 13 Jul 2009
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby finetune » Mon, 13 Jul 2009 3:34 pm

Hi Louy, from what I gather, it sounds like your current Windows is severly corrupted or damaged. It is very likely that a Windows reinstallation or repair is needed. Good luck!

louy
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2008

Postby louy » Tue, 14 Jul 2009 9:11 am

finetune wrote:Hi Louy, from what I gather, it sounds like your current Windows is severly corrupted or damaged. It is very likely that a Windows reinstallation or repair is needed. Good luck!


Many thanks for your expertise.
Thanks for suggesting and establishing what I had already suggested in my original post.

Im off to get a new CD. or possibly a new laptop as well.

User avatar
Dealer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon, 16 Feb 2009
Location: Jurong Singapore

Postby Dealer » Tue, 14 Jul 2009 11:40 am

Good luck getting Windoze back up and running let us know how you get on.

If your LapTop/PC goes dead for good all is not lost as you can buy a HD Caddie for either 2.5 or 3.5 drives and recover all your data.

Genral rule of thumb is do not run your LapTop/PC until it corrupts the HD as then only a sector reader will get your data back.

BTW I have a copy of DELL XP if you are in Singapore.

User avatar
finetune
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 13 Jul 2009
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby finetune » Tue, 14 Jul 2009 2:13 pm

If you can reinstall the operating system successfully, no need to replace your old laptop! Save money and save the environment... :P Cheers
Finetune Computer Care and Repair at your home and office in Singapore. http://finetune.sg

louy
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat, 02 Aug 2008

Postby louy » Thu, 13 Aug 2009 5:31 pm

Fixed now.

Downgraded to XP.

Also, its a pirate version - so dunno if I can even bring my laptop back to SG with me.
Being Pirate, I wont get updates as well.

But its working for now and so I can spam the forums again !!!!

User avatar
HouseRocker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon, 22 Dec 2008
Contact:

Postby HouseRocker » Fri, 21 Aug 2009 4:26 pm

Perhaps you're like me... a computer idiot. What I do is just call up a friend to help me backup everything there is to backup and do a thorough formatting. Think they call this a low level format or something. The thing is never try it yourself if you're never done it before... you could end up with no computer to use for a few days. lol! There're many geek friends or some poly people who knows these things inside out, so make a phone call and help will be right there. =)


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest