Singapore Expats Forum

EP Rejection

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
riddick4u

EP Rejection

Postby riddick4u » Wed, 17 Jun 2009 5:52 pm

Hi all,

I am a professional working here in Singapore from last one year on EP(Q1). Recently I changed my employer and they applied for an EP for me. To my surprise MOM rejected my EP application !!

I could not understand why this could happen, it would be great if someone can point out, following is my credentials:

a) Monthly Salary 4.3k, minimum required for EP is 2.5k
b) Employer reputed MNC based in US/Canada.
c) Software Developer profile with 3+ years of experience, specialized product development work not usual IT support profile.
d) Education from reputed institute from india, the institute is being recognized by MoM and is also in the list of institute eligible for EPEC:

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal ... html#India

I am really puzzled by this, can anyone tell me what could be the reason. My employer has filed an appeal and currently we are awaiting MOM reply, any idea what chances i have of success through this appeal ?

I would greatly appreciate any reply on this regard.

Thanks
Riddick

littlegreenman
Chatter
Chatter

Postby littlegreenman » Wed, 17 Jun 2009 6:31 pm

Hi there,

sorry to hear about it being rejected. The reason why it was most likely rejected is that your employer should be able to fill this position with a local instead of a foreigner.

The points you listed only mean that you are eligable for an EP, but it doesn't mean you get it unless the employer can prove they couldn't fill the position with a local which in the current recession with higher unemployment is quite doubtful. You should have applied for PR first and then changed job.

riddick4u

Postby riddick4u » Wed, 17 Jun 2009 6:40 pm