Tailor made business suit - where from?

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
sing_resident_09

Tailor made business suit - where from?

Post by sing_resident_09 » Fri, 29 May 2009 11:46 am

Hi all,

I am looking to get a reasonably good quality business suit tailored in Singapore.

Do you have any recommendations of tailors that you have used in the past that you're very happy with. Would be grateful for any recommendations that you may have.

I am pretty new to Singapore and haven't used a tailor here for anything thus far - so really looking to be guided.

I have heard of the usual suspects to be good - CYC Raffles (but have heard that they are very expensive for what they offer). Some others have also suggested Eurobest, and another Joe Tailors close to Raffles MRT station.

Any answers for the following is gratefully received:
- Who have you got your suit tailored from?
- Any particular tailor or person to ask for in the big shops that you suggest
- What factors should be mentioned (e.g., Cashmere material, and xx thing to be done in the suit/ material?)

Many thanks

Strong Eagle

Post by Strong Eagle » Fri, 29 May 2009 3:01 pm

I have used Jack's Custom Tailors in the Far East Plaza, second floor, on Scotts Road near Orchard. You can't really tell about a tailor because the guy who actually does the cutting and sewing is rarely in the store.

Jack's cost more than others I have used and I think their work is better. There are four things to consider in selecting a tailor.

a) Price - and you do get what you pay for. You can tell when a garment has been tossed together by a less experienced person even if you were measured correctly.