Singapore Expats

UPDATE - Freelancing while on dependent visa

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
padma0506

UPDATE - Freelancing while on dependent visa

Post by padma0506 » Sat, 23 May 2009 5:43 pm

Hello

I am a dependent pass holder and my husband is an employment pass holder. I am an instructional designer and want to explore opportunities to start working as a freelance Instructional designer. Is that possible while being a DP holder?

Would also appreciate any leads on getting some freelance ID opportunities.

Thanks in advance.

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Sat, 23 May 2009 10:23 pm

Unless the rules have changed recently, you cannot freelance on a DP. You can however work for any employer who will apply for a "Letter of Consent" from the MOM. The LoC will be tied to your spouse's EP and will expire on the same time as his EP expires and can be renewed simultaneously with the spousal EP. The obviously problem with this arrangement is if your spouse is retrenched it is a double blow as you also lose your employment as well. As the only way you can work while on a DP is with the LoC, this would preclude any freelance work as you can only work for one employer at a time. You need to be either a Citizen or a PR to work as a self-employed person.

sms
SOME PEOPLE TRY TO TURN BACK THEIR ODOMETERS. NOT ME. I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW WHY I LOOK THIS WAY. I'VE TRAVELED A LONG WAY, AND SOME OF THE ROADS WEREN'T PAVED. ~ Will Rogers

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Sat, 23 May 2009 10:59 pm

I think a DP can also be a director of a private limited company so she could create her own company to freelance. Probably could do it under sole proprietorship rules as well.

padma0506

Post by padma0506 » Sun, 24 May 2009 9:37 am

Thanks a ton for taking time out to respond.