Singapore Expats

IT Jobs in Systems Admin/Networking

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
chrisuk

IT Jobs in Systems Admin/Networking

Post by chrisuk » Tue, 05 May 2009 5:44 am

Hi there.

I have 4 years experience in Systems Admin (mainly Windows but I have skills in Linux and IBM i5/OS) and Networking (Cisco and 3Com) - mainly LAN but with some WAN experience. I am also a certified 3Com VoIP expert, on their SIP based VCX product and I have experience with Nortel and also Asterisk based solutions.

I have a BSc Honours degree (first class) and I graduated in July 2007. I'm 24.

I feel like a big change and Singapore looks a fine place to live and work.

I'm curious about "expat packages" - Are there any big companies (IBM, for instance) that actively recruit foreign nationals and can assist with accomodation and such like? Or is it more about putting all the pieces together yourself?

Looking at the salary information, I see the average salary for a network role is between 3500 and 5500 - I would expect to get the higher of the two, or perhaps a bit more. Is this realistic?

Also, if someone could give a modest breakdown of monthly expenses that would be great. I am single and would be looking probably for a 1 bedroom apartment in a fairly central location.

Obviously I'm sure you guys see these sorts of threads alot..so I have tried to be specific. I've read the stickies but doesn't answer all my questions.

I am thinking of aiming for the start of 2010 - so plenty of time to gather info. How far in advance can jobs be secured?

Thanks for your time :)

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 05 May 2009 7:03 am