i need a 110->200V converter 500W

Discuss about life in Singapore. Ask about cost of living, housing, travel, etiquette & lifestyle. Share experience & advice with Singaporeans & expat staying in Singapore.
Post Reply
OogieBoogie
Regular
Regular
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri, 17 Apr 2009 9:54 am
Location: Singapore East Coast

i need a 110->200V converter 500W

Post by OogieBoogie » Mon, 27 Apr 2009 9:06 am

anybody knows where i can buy this kind of stuff? I mean ok i should probably go to Sim Lim but i really don't like this place... so if you know a precise place, I'd appreciate the help.
Funan could be an alternative?

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Post by jpatokal » Tue, 28 Apr 2009 4:33 pm

I presume you mean 220V to 110V, right? (That is, takes 220V Singapore current and converts it into 110V for your US device.) You will have better luck looking for a "step-down transformer", which you can find in more or less any large electrical shop, including Best Denki.

Can I ask what you're planning to use it for though? 500W is a lot, and a reliable transformer for that much wattage is not going to be cheap.
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague

OogieBoogie
Regular
Regular
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri, 17 Apr 2009 9:54 am
Location: Singapore East Coast

Post by OogieBoogie » Wed, 29 Apr 2009 8:54 am

Yes true, i was talking of a 220->110/100V. sorry.

I was in Funan vicinity yesterday and gave it a shot. I found exactly what i was looking for at a big electronic shop on 2F. It cost me 69SGD for a 500W. They even had 1000W (99SGD) and 1500W (159SGD). It's actually cheaper than the prices i've found on some website. Places like Best Denki usually don't have more than 85W transfo. I've check already few times.

It's for my TV... I've brought my japanese TV with me, and it uses like 200W, and my speakers use about 110W. Unfortunately as i though, the TV doesn't take PAL, only NTSC... But at least i can use my PS3 again.

So now, should i buy a new TV or can i find something that can transform PAL in NTSC... no idea

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3004
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003 9:38 pm
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Post by jpatokal » Wed, 29 Apr 2009 5:39 pm

OogieBoogie wrote:I was in Funan vicinity yesterday and gave it a shot. I found exactly what i was looking for at a big electronic shop on 2F. It cost me 69SGD for a 500W. They even had 1000W (99SGD) and 1500W (159SGD). It's actually cheaper than the prices i've found on some website.
Pay peanuts, get crappy transformers. I've had one of those cheap Chinese jobbies quite literally burst into flame on me after being left on for too long... 500W for ~300W is a tolerable margin, but please make sure you switch it off whenever you stop using it.
So now, should i buy a new TV or can i find something that can transform PAL in NTSC... no idea
No such beasts exist, the TV has to be designed from ground up for the correct system. Buy a new one.
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague

User avatar
sierra2469alpha
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue, 27 Feb 2007 10:50 am
Location: Singapore (Finally!)

Post by sierra2469alpha » Wed, 29 Apr 2009 5:51 pm

Yeh and buy a powder based fire extinguisher while you are at it.

In terms of new TV's, got something through from Courts today - seem they have a sale on for TV's.

HTH, Mr. P

OogieBoogie
Regular
Regular
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri, 17 Apr 2009 9:54 am
Location: Singapore East Coast

Post by OogieBoogie » Thu, 30 Apr 2009 8:37 am

actually those have japanese writing on the box. I will check where it was build anyway... even if it won't mean anything in the end.

I shut it down every time i stop using it. I know this kind of baby can be dangerous. I took one with a fuse, I mounted a plug with a fuse, and the multi plug has a fuse too. 3 fuses between the wall and the TV O_o It should be ok.
No such beasts exist, the TV has to be designed from ground up for the correct system. Buy a new one.
No it does exist, I just need to find a place that sells some at a correct price
http://www.converters.tv/signals/ntsc_to_pal.html

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11504
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Thu, 30 Apr 2009 2:19 pm

OogieBoogie wrote:So now, should i buy a new TV or can i find something that can transform PAL in NTSC... no idea
You will probably be using a cable box, which will be PAL only, if you use the antenna connection. However, you should be able to use the RGB connection and connect to one of the video connectors. You should also be able to do the same thing with a DVD player.

OogieBoogie
Regular
Regular
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri, 17 Apr 2009 9:54 am
Location: Singapore East Coast

Post by OogieBoogie » Thu, 30 Apr 2009 2:48 pm

I already have a Starhub box, which I'm mainly using for the Internet right now. I never looked at the back to see what's output i have, i will check tonight.

What i hope to do is plugging the Starhub box on a DVD player that would be able to output the signal in NTSC. I'm sure this kind device exists. Do they?

I have to say i know nothing of RGB, SVideo and stuff... I never really bothered, as i spent 10 years without having a TV. I just bought my first one 2 years ago.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11504
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Thu, 30 Apr 2009 4:09 pm

OogieBoogie wrote:I already have a Starhub box, which I'm mainly using for the Internet right now. I never looked at the back to see what's output i have, i will check tonight.

What i hope to do is plugging the Starhub box on a DVD player that would be able to output the signal in NTSC. I'm sure this kind device exists. Do they?

I have to say i know nothing of RGB, SVideo and stuff... I never really bothered, as i spent 10 years without having a TV. I just bought my first one 2 years ago.
You will need to find a multi output or NTSC output DVD player and/or you will need to find an NTSC to PAL converter, (google to find) unless:

Your Starhub box has S-Video or RGB (three separate plugs) or YPbPr (3 separate plugs) output... the yellow plug is composite and will be PAL... same for the typical DVD player. I think my (much older) Starhub box only has cable out... which, if yours is the same, will require a converter box.

You will be facing loss of quality to some extent. PAL is a 625 line format, NTSC 525 line format with differing methods of sync, contrast, and color transmission.

Multi-region DVD players will read either PAL or NTSC DVD's but only output in either NTSC or PAL.

Maybe you can find multi output DVD players here... I don't know where... but you will almost certainly have to buy an NTSC player from Amazon or some such... and then you have to make sure that it is multi voltage.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Staying, Living in Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests