Singapore Expats Forum

Graphic design Software

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

ksl
Governor
Governor

Graphic design Software

Postby ksl » Sun, 29 Mar 2009 10:10 pm

I'm just curious what other graphic designers recommend in the software industry.

I have a designer friend in Denmark who explained to me why he uses what he does, for his graphic design work and I was wondering if graphic designers ever upgrade to better software, because it takes such a long period of time to master one package.

I'm only a novice when it comes to software, although i have tried quite a few packages like corel, bryce, seriff, Illustrator, and a couple of the not so well known ones.

I'm interested in remarks from banana, UK design, addadud and anyone else with interest in graphic software.. I am about to purchase a package, which is very cheap and surprisingly very easy to use, but very surprised that not many know of it here in Singapore, which makes me think some people maybe too conservative to try new things, and they just prefer Illustrator, which appears to be the norm in Singapore, but i may be wrong. I found Illustrator far too expensive for my needs, even the educational package which is around 1200$,

I'm also forever told about incompatibility problems, by some of the designers and printers, although i have never had a problem to change a file, into another application.

Addadude
Reporter
Reporter

Postby Addadude » Mon, 30 Mar 2009 9:01 am

In a word, InDesign.

In my experience, the really popular software here for design is/was Freehand. Every agency I've worked in used it. But now Freehand is being phased out and replaced by InDesign.