Singapore Expats Forum

Looking to Make New Friends

Post here to organise an event, gathering, meetup, party. Search for expats from your country, sports partners or meet new friends here!
mrAlek

Looking to Make New Friends

Postby mrAlek » Sun, 15 Mar 2009 9:29 pm

Hello:
I just moved here about a week ago – from the US (was most recently living in California). I will be living in Singapore for 2+ years, working at an environmental engineering firm. I am excited to be here, as this is my first time in Asia.

I am looking to meet people, make friends with common interests, and get to know Singapore – my new home. I don’t know anyone outside the office yet. But as I am planning to do some sight-seeing anyway, I’d like to invite others to join me – and hopefully develop some friendships.

I am interested in visiting the art museums, history museums, theaters, seeing live music, as well as dining at restaurants and cafés in different districts.

In order to set up something concrete, I’d like to plan a trip this weekend [say, Sunday March 22nd] to either the Singapore Art Museum or the National Museum of Singapore (depending on group preferences). And perhaps we could get a meal before or after.

I’d love to meet locals as well as other foreigners. So if you’ve been here a while and would like to show a new friend around town, or if you’re also new to Singapore and want to explore together, please reply to this post and let’s meet up.

And briefly, a little about me:
I am a 28 year old American male. I work as an environmental engineer. My interests include: environment/sustainability issues, politics, reading (most recent books: “The White Tiger”

marionberry

Postby marionberry » Tue, 17 Mar 2009 9:52 pm

I just sent you a PM!

edit: looks like my PM is still sitting in my outbox. let me know if you did not receive it.

xiaodanxd
Regular
Regular

Postby xiaodanxd » Wed, 18 Mar 2009 2:35 pm

Hi Alek,