Singapore Expats Forum

Singtel Mobile Broadband User

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
innosia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri, 13 Feb 2009

Singtel Mobile Broadband User

Postby innosia » Sat, 14 Feb 2009 11:40 am

Hi There, I am expat and uses Singtel mobile broadband plan. ANy of you here also uses the plan?

I have a problems like this, actually I want to host a web server at my laptop using this broadband connection, but I found that singtel gave me a private IP instead of public IP, do you know any solution?

I want to use dyndns, see my question here http://dyndnscommunity.com/forum/viewto ... =17&t=1474

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Sat, 14 Feb 2009 11:57 am

first off, running a web server on 3G is not ideal. a 3G connection cannot sustain a continue connection and latency will be high. the uploadeing speed is probaby too slow to "server" anything. it is much more possible on a fixed line broadband and i have done it running webserver/proxy, lotus notes server and even ms exchange server for domain emails.

to get dyndns to work, you need some sort of port forwarding. this is usually done or supported on the broadband router but because you are using a 3G usb dongle, you dont have that luxury. in 3G data, the AP/router is singtel. the AP/router is holding the real IP and probably dishing out NAT.

in your scenario, better bet is to cough up some money for a domain and hosting.

innosia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri, 13 Feb 2009

Postby innosia » Sat, 14 Feb 2009 12:08 pm

hi durain,

so it means I need to have a fixed line broadband instead? How do I obtain one? Do i had to have a phone line? Because I am renting and moving every six months and I really wish to have my own web server, do you know any other way out? I don't really want a real tough server, I just want to host a simple site and data for my own use, no visitor beside me I think.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Sat, 14 Feb 2009 12:21 pm

if you have a fixed line broadband - adsl or cable, then you can host your own server using dyndns if you are on dynamic ip.

if you want some web storage for personal use, then there are countless place you can use for free. i used to use xdrive.com (part of aol). have a look at www.adrive.com or www.mozy.com if that's suitable for you.

smashme1984
Regular
Regular
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun, 14 Dec 2008
Location: Singapore

Postby smashme1984 » Fri, 20 Feb 2009 5:13 pm

Yep, agreed, from what you said, you're movign around so much, and you need a fixed telephone line, which you'll have to change everytime you move, you might as well rent a host/server thats online. You can get some low end ones free too.
Live free and hard!

User avatar
sierra2469alpha
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue, 27 Feb 2007
Location: Singapore (Finally!)

Postby sierra2469alpha » Fri, 20 Feb 2009 6:45 pm

Just topping up Durain's great post - all you need is a static (fixed) IP address for your server. I wonder why you need to have it running on a notebook, though. Just go and host it!!! Strong Eagle put some good posts up recently about hosting, so maybe use the search function for their posts.

HTH, P


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests