Singapore Expats Forum

Foreigners/Employment Pass.../freelance

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

Indust

Foreigners/Employment Pass.../freelance

Postby Indust » Sun, 01 Feb 2009 9:09 am

HI all, I recently did the test to see if I passed for eligiblity and I did which is great, I've booked my ticket to Singapore and Im looking at it one of two ways, one it will be a lovely holiday or two Ill get some work there, now I havnt as yet applied for my EP, I have a degree(B.A social science) and a diploma(Illustration/design; actually this is only 95% finished but hey!) and I am just finishing a Training and Assessment course (which in aus lets u teach a skill u have at tafe, or adult learning centres) now I have also worked as a photo retoucher only for one year but am extremly confident with my skills, (digital art/photography/retouching) and have been offered to work as a freelance for a university magazine. Im in the process of applying for an EP and an S pass, and I know we are in an economic crisis, but the work has been offered, my question is how does working as a freelance work for foreigners? I still need permission from the company offerering the work? is this the only company I can work for? and how long does it take to apply for an EP and S pass (together)... ? and can I apply from Singapore?

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 01 Feb 2009 10:35 am

First of all I don't want to burst your enthusiasm bubble but here is the reality of life.

The EP elgibility indicator is only there to see if you educational levels are sufficient to warrarnt the issuance of an EP. IT IS NOT A GUARANTEE of getting one.