Singapore Expats Forum

EP Question for International Assignment

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
urbanpair

EP Question for International Assignment

Postby urbanpair » Thu, 15 Jan 2009 11:10 pm

First, I apologize if this is a repeat question, I have done my best to search the forum, but think my situation is a bit unique.

I currently work for a large MNC in the USA. I have been offered a temporary international assignment in Singapore for 2 years.

My question is, in this situation, do the same rules for the EP apply? My salary will be well above the EP requirement, I have over 10 years of experience in my field. My issue is around a university degree. While I did attend a major university in the USA for 4 years, I took a job before actually completing the degree. I am not leaving my company and applying to a different one in Singapore, rather it is an internal assignment.

I have done the self assessment and don't think I will have an issue. However, I was curious as to how this type of International Assignment situation is handled. Was not sure if large MNC's have some type of waiver for internal placements or anything else.

Thank you for any input and as a long time reader of the forum, have always found this to be very informative.

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 16 Jan 2009 7:05 am

MNC's are under no illusions here. They generally have to follow the same rules as all other companies. With regard to education, yes, you must meet the minimum educational requirements. HOWEVER.