Singapore Expats Forum

Worth moving money out of SG?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:
The Club Residences

DrE4MeR

Worth moving money out of SG?

Postby DrE4MeR » Fri, 26 Dec 2008 6:58 am

Hi guys :)

First post here.. I have been reading posts on this forum for a couple of weeks now - great stuff!

I am a French fresh graduate who will be joining a financial services company in a couple of weeks. I was hired as a local employee so nothing much of an expat package here. I am neverthelesss thankful to have the opportunity to work in SG/Asia and gain more work experience over time (having in mind the current economic context)!

As I will get paid in SGD, I will need to open a bank account in Singapore. I read here and there that DBS is the way to go.
Do you guys know if it offers reliable and cheap international money transfer? Or any other banks that do? That would mean foreign exchange + money transfer.

I am contemplating saving some money every month and wiring it out to my French bank account. Or should I do this in one go (let's say when I definitely leave SG)?

I am not even sure if this is worth the hassle given the associated costs. Interest rates on savings accounts/life insurance plans are pretty low nowadays (except my mistake).

Would appreciate your feedback.

Thanks!
David

durain
Director
Director

Postby durain » Fri, 26 Dec 2008 7:19 am

if you dont need money in france, then just leave your SGD in singapore. when you go back to france for holiday, etc, you can exchange the money in a local money changer and take some back. just take into consideration the current exchange rate, interest rate and charges for doing a electronic money transfer.

louy
Chatter
Chatter

Postby louy » Fri, 26 Dec 2008 9:16 am