Singapore Expats Forum

Any interactive brokers user in singapore?

Discuss your views about Singapore business & economy, current policies & issues, starting a business in Singapore.
sin2008
Member
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat, 12 Apr 2008

Any interactive brokers user in singapore?

Postby sin2008 » Wed, 12 Nov 2008 10:23 pm

Just wonder how do you deal with funding and withdrawal ?

User avatar
HouseRocker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon, 22 Dec 2008
Contact:

Postby HouseRocker » Sat, 03 Jan 2009 3:47 am

Just wire over to them and provide the relevant documents. Withdrawal is much easier than funding - just need to create an instruction and ask them to wire $$ back to yr bank.

All these need to go thru intermediary bank, which will suck up a little service fee. (I'm wiring fr UOB...haven't tried other banks)

luxiana
Regular
Regular
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon, 02 Jul 2007
Contact:

Postby luxiana » Mon, 05 Jan 2009 5:25 pm

was considering opening an accoutn with them (their trading platform looks fine)
but I quite dont understand how they deal with multiple currencies.

I would like to invest in the US and in Europe so I would need 2 currencies on my account.

when funding the account, my SGD would be converted into USD
when I'll invest in EUR stocks I will be converted in EUr and when selling the stocks I'd beconverted back into USD?? (if USD is the base currency on my account)

is that right?
thanks!
my website: free online game

sin2008
Member
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat, 12 Apr 2008

Postby sin2008 » Tue, 06 Jan 2009 4:22 pm

which base currency you choose does not matter.
when you sell you EUR stocks you get EUR cash. It stays as EURO unless you want to convert into USD (you have to do it manually).

if you wire the money to a EUR bank, then you SGD will automatically be converted to EUR - again, you base currency does not matter.


luxiana wrote:was considering opening an accoutn with them (their trading platform looks fine)
but I quite dont understand how they deal with multiple currencies.

I would like to invest in the US and in Europe so I would need 2 currencies on my account.

when funding the account, my SGD would be converted into USD
when I'll invest in EUR stocks I will be converted in EUr and when selling the stocks I'd beconverted back into USD?? (if USD is the base currency on my account)

is that right?
thanks!

luxiana
Regular
Regular
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon, 02 Jul 2007
Contact:

Postby luxiana » Tue, 06 Jan 2009 5:31 pm

hi there!
thanks for the feedback.
ok, so I am in singapore, i wire I.Brokers money (SGD)
it will automatically be converted into USD.

I can by whatever stock I want in the US (in USD) and also in Europe (in Eur)
the day I sell my Eur Shares I get Eur on my I.Brokers account and I can decide whether I want to convert into USD (manually)

I think it might be more economical to have an accoutn with a broekr in europe + I.Brokers for the US (but then: it decreases your margin trading ability...)

btw: do you trade options on I.B? if so, what software do you use?
I have an excel add in that seems pretty good but nothing like Optionetics or OptionVue...
my website: free online game

treasury0825
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon, 27 Apr 2009

US stock

Postby treasury0825 » Mon, 27 Apr 2009 6:37 am

I Just open an a/c from Etrade, Heard someone complaint about the withdrawal, is anyone experience it B4? Can anyone chare the experience with me?
hi


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Business in Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest