Singapore Expats Forum

NUS exchange

Post here to organise an event, gathering, meetup, party. Search for expats from your country, sports partners or meet new friends here!
batman_hood

NUS exchange

Postby batman_hood » Tue, 02 Sep 2008 2:16 pm

Hey, i'll be in Singapore going to school at NUS for the Jan 09 semester and coming all the way from Canada.

Just wondering whats there to do for Singapore for students and if there is a good way to meet people and make new friends down there.

thanks!

Nixxy
Regular
Regular

Postby Nixxy » Tue, 02 Sep 2008 4:16 pm

Do you know if you'll be living in halls? Exchange students usually live in Prince George's Park Residences (PGP) and there are loads of organised events so you will meet tonnes of people no problem. There's an NUS exchange students group on facebook...they tend to meet up every Wednesday for student style drinking on the bridge, followed by cheap ladies nights.

I'm a graduate student so I live on my own miles from campus and don't meet as many students :( Still loving it here though. What are you studying?

batman_hood

Postby batman_hood » Tue, 02 Sep 2008 11:24 pm

yup, i applied to PGP around two weeks ago so i'm still waiting to hear back from that. I'll be studying electrical engineering, how about yourself? so you think the best way to meet most ppl is from those events? that was the one thing i was worried about, going all the way over there and not meeting anyone!

Renewed
Regular
Regular

Hey there

Postby Renewed » Sun, 07 Sep 2008 4:20 pm

You found the right forum and you will have lot of options to meet new people. I would recommend u thou to have intense travel plans to different parts of south eats Asia. One thing u have to be worried about the boring devil in Singapore that hits anyone who stay longer (3 or more weeks in a row in the island :) ) She finds pleasure in depressing u :D

batman_hood

Postby batman_hood » Mon, 08 Sep 2008 2:06 am