Singapore Expats Forum

How can I find Investors in this town...??!!

Post here to organise an event, gathering, meetup, party. Search for expats from your country, sports partners or meet new friends here!
ArtyJames

How can I find Investors in this town...??!!

Postby ArtyJames » Tue, 12 Aug 2008 11:47 am

I'm a UK artist on the rise, just moved to Singapore....just had my first Singapore based solo show actually a few weeks ago....but anyway i'm not here to talk about that...
What I want to know....Is anyone out there interested in art??? Buying, collecting or viewing?? I have really got in on the art scene here in Singapore only to discover that most galleries either have closed or are closing or that all they care about is making a quick buck....such a short term view.....??!!
Anyway, everyone within the 'scene' I have spoken to reckons there is no interest here....they are so pessimistic. I can't believe that you guys out there aren't interested in art and art investment....I mean lets face it, when the economy slips, art is probably the one constant, it never decreases in value and more often than not increases.....looks like I'm going to have to do what every other artist and gallery owner seems to do...leave Singapore behind and go to Hong Kong, where people seem to value investment...!!!
Anyone have an opinion.....

Gypsy Queen
Regular
Regular

Postby Gypsy Queen » Tue, 12 Aug 2008 1:07 pm

Hi James

Welcome to the forum. As much as I hate to agree with the guys you have spoken to, the art scene here is practically non existant! Having come from London where I spent all my free time at exhibitions and the art musems I had a bit of a culture shock when I got here!