Singapore Expats Forum

ADSL Modems

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
jazzizgreat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, 10 Aug 2008

ADSL Modems

Postby jazzizgreat » Sun, 10 Aug 2008 1:00 pm

I am moving to Singapore shortly and wondering if my Netgear DG834G ADSL Modem Router will work in Singapore?

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Sun, 10 Aug 2008 6:11 pm

probably. singapore has a larger penetration of cable broadband than ADSL. and with ADSL, you will need to subscript to a landline telephone whereas cable doesnt as it use VoIP.

User avatar
jazzizgreat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, 10 Aug 2008

Postby jazzizgreat » Sun, 10 Aug 2008 8:30 pm

Seems like I need to sell my modem before moving to Singapore, thank you for the advice.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Sun, 10 Aug 2008 9:17 pm

yeah, sell your netgear la. if your router is a draytek vigor 2820n, then bring it over. :P

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Mon, 11 Aug 2008 12:00 pm

dont sell.
the DG 834 will work fine here ( if you subscribe to singtel )
I've used one for years
Only recently upgraded to a DG 834N

Easy to set up and use ...very reliable

good luck

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34677
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 11 Aug 2008 5:46 pm

Exactly the same scenario as bigfilsing here. Still have the old one as a backup if need be. I don't think the concentration of cable users is quite as high as is thought to be.....

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Mon, 11 Aug 2008 7:39 pm

sms, are you with pacnet?

User avatar
jazzizgreat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, 10 Aug 2008

Postby jazzizgreat » Tue, 12 Aug 2008 3:38 am

Helpful link, thanks.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34677
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 12 Aug 2008 11:44 am

Yup!

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 12 Aug 2008 12:27 pm

One thing worth mentioning is that the Netgear Modem/routers have dyndns service "in" them so you can create and account ( free) and the modem updates the account ( every time your IP address changes) so despite most personal internet connections in Singapore being a dynmic IP set up you can always access your PC when traveling. Works a treat

Good luck

User avatar
jazzizgreat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, 10 Aug 2008

Postby jazzizgreat » Thu, 14 Aug 2008 3:19 am

Starhub advertises connection speeds from 8-100 Mb/s (broadband) and just wondering what speeds Singtel would offer on ADSL?
These would be "connection" speeds within Singapore and wondering if these also apply to international connections?

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Thu, 14 Aug 2008 5:56 am

starhub 100mbps line is only on "partner sites". dont know what are the "partner sites", and definitely not 100mbps to all website worldwide. singtel ADSL is only upto 10mbps via the copper telephone wire. singtel is only using standard ADSL and not the faster ADSL2/2+ which can up the speed to 24mbps. i cant find any info on the contention ratio but i suspect both will be 50:1.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34677
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Thu, 14 Aug 2008 8:48 am

The upload and download speeds once off the Singabore Backbone, will be governed by the upload and download speeds of the receiving/sending servers outside of Singapore. This is the bottleneck. The local provider can only "guarantee", for what that's worth, that which is within "the last mile" and connected to the singabore backbone.

MikeDirnt
Regular
Regular
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun, 27 Jan 2008

Postby MikeDirnt » Sun, 17 Aug 2008 5:50 am

im still using an 8 year old dsl modem for my 1M singnet. still working great
Guides and information -> Singapore Stocks

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Sun, 17 Aug 2008 10:49 am

Also remember there are some good deals to be had at Singtel if you subscribe to a mobile plan, home land line and internet package at the same time.

I used to be a Singtel magix subscriber which gave me a fixed IP address and a better quality connection ( dedicated node instead of shared) but now have an 8mb plan thats just as good IMHO.

It depends a lot on what you want from your connection really. The upload speeds can be important if you're an online gamer ( these speeds are rarely published by ISP's).
You may want to go to one of many speed test sites to compare Singapore results if it's raw speed you're interested in
http://www.speedtest.net/

Heres my connection results for :-
Singapore
Image
LONDON
Image
NEW YORK
Image


Good luck


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests