Singapore Expats Forum

Landlines

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Le Chem Abroad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 01 Jul 2008
Location: Newton

Landlines

Postby Le Chem Abroad » Tue, 01 Jul 2008 4:20 pm

Hi
Are landlines only available from SingTel? Is it like BT in the UK where you have to get the line from BT but can pay another provider for calls etc?

Despair at the thought of having to line up in a StarHub outlet - where do all these people come from?? :shock:

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Tue, 01 Jul 2008 6:25 pm

all telco outlet are the same! equally, you can fone customer service without visiting the outlet.

singtel is like BT, and starhub is like virgin media. both will provide broadband, TV and telephone.

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Tue, 01 Jul 2008 6:39 pm

I believe you cannot, however, sign up for SingTel and use another provider unless you start getting involved with calling cards for IDD etc.

It's not like shopping around for cheap gas...... no idea how anybody in Scotland, for example, can buy gas from Wales and get it cheaper.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Tue, 01 Jul 2008 7:05 pm

i think the telco in singapore is not deregulated. so starhub or other telco cant do telephone over the copper wire from singtel.

Le Chem Abroad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 01 Jul 2008
Location: Newton

Postby Le Chem Abroad » Tue, 08 Jul 2008 2:09 pm

Thanks for all the responses. Got a landline sorted now - now to see how much the calls will cost! :lol:


Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest