Singapore Expats Forum

Motorcycling in singapore?

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

gowrip

Motorcycling in singapore?

Postby gowrip » Tue, 20 May 2008 12:50 pm

Very basic questions, somehow I am finding it hard to get answers...

I only want the minimal license (the <200CC one) and don't really need a course (if the provisional license let's me just appear to the test, bringing the bike magically to the testing center). i don't have a drivers license to convert from. to begin with and want to upgrade it to the next level as soon as possible.

1. How soon a daytime student can get a MC drivers license? I have plenty of driving experience - the crazy roads of India driving on one side of road where we develop, test & maintain our survival skills (wait... actually, we indians just drive in any side of the road, towards any direction, in any manner, carrying almost any load & any number of peoples - yeah, i know, i have got a good score in IELTS - as long as we don't come across as deliberately trying to kill someone - especially the traffic cops - but trying to kill himself/herself and the poor passenger sitting in the back seat is completely allowed and i have managed to do it twice - just trying to kill myself) and the "too fast for my own good" american roads that drive in the other side and where i had to be a very good boy (where I was pulled over once as i was rushing for a morning meeting a cop said a plane clocked me doing 80 and speed limit was 60; and everyone else was doing only 70).

2. Let's say the course is mandatory (i looked at two different websites - they only talk about the number of theory and practical sessions but i am not too sure how the schedule works), how quickly/frequently can i schedule the sessions? are these all evening classes or do i have to rely on only weekends?