Singapore Expats

Bringing my iMac from USA to Singapore

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.
Post Reply
speedwell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2008 4:11 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Bringing my iMac from USA to Singapore

Post by speedwell » Sat, 17 May 2008 4:25 am

I was just given an iMac as a Christmas gift and have switched over from using all my creaky old Windows boxes to the shiny new Apple product. I love it and would really like to bring it with my from the USA to Singapore when I move.

It's not multi-voltage of course like my Mac laptop so I'm wondering if I should bring it. I know I can use a step-down transformer but I tend to leave it on for long periods of time and I don't know if you can do that safely.

The other idea I had was to take it to an Apple store in Singapore and pay to have the PSU switched over to 240v. Anyone know if this is possible?

Cheers

--Speedy.

User avatar
Mi Amigo
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1794
Joined: Sat, 19 Jun 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Kinto Pino

Post by Mi Amigo » Sat, 17 May 2008 10:18 pm

Are you 100% sure that the AC adapter is not of the multi-voltage type? I'm not familiar with Apple hardware but most laptop power supplies are 'auto-ranging' and will cope with anything from just below 110 volts (as used in the USA) to over 220 volts (as used in Singapore). Best thing is to look at the label on the adapter you have. If it says something like '100-250V' then you're OK (although you might need to get a plug adapter to allow you to physically plug it in here - these are easily obtainable here and not expensive).

If your AC adapter lable says something like '110V' or '100-120V' then you can't use it here and it's very unlikely that it could be converted. In that case you'd need to buy a new AC adapter (power supply) here. You could search the Apple web site and other places to find an approximate price for this. Or alternatively you could use a 220V -> 110V transformer with your existing power supply but that would mean another bulky item for you to carry around with you.

Hope this helps.

speedwell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2008 4:11 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by speedwell » Sat, 17 May 2008 10:55 pm

Thanks Mi Amigo.

My Mac laptop will work just fine - the iMac doesn't have an adapter though - it plugs directly into a socket. I expect it's modular inside which is what I would like to replace with a 240v version.

User avatar
Mi Amigo
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1794
Joined: Sat, 19 Jun 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Kinto Pino

Post by Mi Amigo » Sat, 17 May 2008 11:07 pm

Ah yes, I see what you mean. Sorry, I'd mis-read your post and though you were asking about the Mac book.

Yes, it's theoretcially possible to change out the power supply, but I guess it comes down to cost. You could try searching for Apple Centre Singapore and emailing them.

speedwell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2008 4:11 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by speedwell » Sun, 18 May 2008 1:29 am

Yep - I'll fire off a request to Apple over there. My wife is there right now finding us a place to live - is there an Apple store (I can look online) or is there a good place to go for Mac repairs etc. ?

Cheers.

Speedy

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007 8:15 pm
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Post by durain » Sun, 18 May 2008 3:13 am

here you go dude...

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75099



________________________________________
apple duo book | apple quicktake | apple newton

speedwell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat, 17 May 2008 4:11 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by speedwell » Sun, 18 May 2008 4:56 am

"iMac G5 - all models Auto-Switching EXCEPT models sold in the US, Canada, and Japan (these models support 100-127 V AC)"

:((

User avatar
road.not.taken
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sat, 06 Oct 2007 9:24 am

Post by road.not.taken » Sun, 18 May 2008 6:54 am

Bring it to Mac as soon as you get here, they can change a US purchased Mac to work on 240v, no problem.

Be careful about the laptop, are you absolutely sure it's not convertible from 120 to 140 v?

Also, brace yourself. The Mac stores here is not affiliated in anyway with Mac in Cupertino. They want to be helpful, but it usually requires a lot of work on your part, and a few trips to the store, because they only give 70% of the information you need.
Last edited by road.not.taken on Sun, 18 May 2008 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007 8:15 pm
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Post by durain » Sun, 18 May 2008 6:54 am

speedwell wrote:
"iMac G5 - all models Auto-Switching EXCEPT models sold in the US, Canada, and Japan (these models support 100-127 V AC)"

:((
that's discrimination against US, canada and japan! you should have bought a "grey import". :P

artursson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue, 03 Jun 2008 4:27 am
Location: Sleepy River USA

Post by artursson » Wed, 04 Jun 2008 11:17 pm

rnt--I have a beloved iMac, too, and I'm glad to read your post about local Apple doing a 240 conversion. Any recollection of cost? We're going to try to shoehorn all such needs into our reloc allowance. Thanks much!

User avatar
road.not.taken
Editor
Editor
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sat, 06 Oct 2007 9:24 am

Post by road.not.taken » Thu, 05 Jun 2008 6:30 am

artursson wrote:Any recollection of cost? We're going to try to shoehorn all such needs into our reloc allowance. Thanks much!
Of course you are. :roll:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Relocating, Moving to Singapore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests