Singapore Expats Forum

Problem with Online Radio

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Problem with Online Radio

Postby Asdracles » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 12:36 am

Some days ago I started to have a problem when trying to listen to online radios.

Everything was OK until I tried to configure my router for i.View (Starhub service for watching some channels online). I made a requested change in the router, didn't work, and I changed it again. Nothing else. No software updates, ....

But since that day, every time that I try to open any online radio through browser (locals in http://www.surfmusic.de/country/singapore.html, spanish in different websites too), I can see only the windows media player, stating 'ready' but without playing anything.

Is only about live broadcasting. If I download some podcast or see videos online, no problem.

My provider is Starhub as I told, but I have tried in different networks. Also with Firefox, Explorer and Safari.

What else can I try??

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Problem with Online Radio

Postby ksl » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 12:53 pm

Asdracles wrote:Some days ago I started to have a problem when trying to listen to online radios.

Everything was OK until I tried to configure my router for i.View (Starhub service for watching some channels online). I made a requested change in the router, didn't work, and I changed it again. Nothing else. No software updates, ....

But since that day, every time that I try to open any online radio through browser (locals in http://www.surfmusic.de/country/singapore.html, spanish in different websites too), I can see only the windows media player, stating 'ready' but without playing anything.

Is only about live broadcasting. If I download some podcast or see videos online, no problem.

My provider is Starhub as I told, but I have tried in different networks. Also with Firefox, Explorer and Safari.

What else can I try??


You may need to have the router reset to the factory settings. what make is it....is the software settings through the web, if so look for the reset, or contact the provider, and expalin your situation...it's probably the DNS.

Try deleting all cookies and history and set the router back to its original factory settings. Unplug it and plug in again!

It may also be, that, the link you posted is outdated, not used!

Object not found!
The requested URL was not found on this server. The link on the referring page seems to be wrong or outdated. Please inform the author of that page about the error.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.

Error 404
www.surfmusic.de
Thu Apr 17 06:55:08 2008

However I went to the link www.surfmusic.de/country and tested the music and it worked......maybe you can try that.

I also managed to get in the link at www.surfmusic.de/country/singapore and it also worked...with the surfmusic interface, so I am suspecting, that your software is trying to open the windows media player, and the station is connected to another player....so you need to direct it to open with windows media player!

Try the direct streaming link using the surfmusic interface and not windows media player...if it works, then the problem is not the router, the problem is configuring windows media player to open, the station.

All the stations appear to be linked to Real Player and not windows media player and I'm not sure they can be opened with windows media..I have looked but not found a windows media player streaming file on the singapore country site...That may well be the reason why you cannot play them in windows media!

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Re: Problem with Online Radio

Postby Asdracles » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 7:10 pm

First of all, thanks for your answer!! But perhaps i misexplained something..

ksl wrote:You may need to have the router reset to the factory settings. what make is it....is the software settings through the web, if so look for the reset, or contact the provider, and expalin your situation...it's probably the DNS.


I have tried in different networks since then and no luck. I have tried today to reset the router without hope, as if it were a router problem, I should be able to do it at office, any SGWireless, ... but cant!

ksl wrote:Try deleting all cookies and history and set the router back to its original factory settings. Unplug it and plug in again!


Same here.... Safari was just installed, so nothing in cache. Deleted everything from Mozilla or Explorer. No luck anyway.

ksl wrote:It may also be, that, the link you posted is outdated, not used!

Object not found!
The requested URL was not found on this server. The link on the referring page seems to be wrong or outdated. Please inform the author of that page about the error.



Just a typo.... I have put a comma too close to the link

ksl wrote:However I went to the link www.surfmusic.de/country and tested the music and it worked......maybe you can try that.

I also managed to get in the link at www.surfmusic.de/country/singapore and it also worked...with the surfmusic interface, so I am suspecting, that your software is trying to open the windows media player, and the station is connected to another player....so you need to direct it to open with windows media player!

Try the direct streaming link using the surfmusic interface and not windows media player...if it works, then the problem is not the router, the problem is configuring windows media player to open, the station.

All the stations appear to be linked to Real Player and not windows media player and I'm not sure they can be opened with windows media..I have looked but not found a windows media player streaming file on the singapore country site...That may well be the reason why you cannot play them in windows media!



Im so atonished!!!! Just seem that all the radio I use to listen to have some problems!!!

I just joined that website, with hundreds of them, and I can listen to most of the spanish radios, but not the two i use to listen more. Bad luck? Something still wrong with my computer?

Can anyone check this two links??

http://www.surfmusic.de/radio-station/c ... ,1397.html

http://www.surfmusic.de/radio-station/r ... ,9951.html

These were my information and sport radios in Spain, use to listen them here last months, and I cant use them from their main website, neither from this one.

So I guess something wrong with these channels but not with all them.... :???:

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Mmmmm

Postby Asdracles » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 7:13 pm

I will say just the opposite. Is not that I cant play those two.... Is that I can play like 10% only!!

So strange!!

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Mmmmm

Postby ksl » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 11:03 pm

Asdracles wrote:I will say just the opposite. Is not that I cant play those two.... Is that I can play like 10% only!!

So strange!!


I tried both links and I cannot play them, tries to connect and goes to ready, but no buffering takes place.

I went to all the other channels in Spain, and they work...So i guess those two may have some routing problem...I don't think it is your computer!

Go to the Command promt: Type tracert www.cadena100.es and it will show you any router delays! It could be timing out someplace, and cannot buffer the stream. I just tested this one, and it also times out at several routers number 16 and 17, i didn't wait to see others.
Last edited by ksl on Thu, 17 Apr 2008 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Thanks!

Postby Asdracles » Thu, 17 Apr 2008 11:04 pm

Ok, was just becoming crazy.

But when I try to play them from the main website, I have the same problem. And is very strange that nobody write in the forums or so if those radios are not working for days.

Anway, will email them.

Thanks!

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

Singapore problem??

Postby Asdracles » Sun, 20 Apr 2008 8:00 pm

My god, I have contacted lot of friends, and I feel that these radios are working worldwide but not in Singapore!

Is that possible?

My spanish friends, and more people around the world, checked and told me that are working properly. But all places in SG where I have tried... no way.

I would really feel incredible that this websites are in a blacklist. One is a top spanish radio, and the another one an "innocent" sport radio, so no point.

Please, if you are around Singapore, test these links and tell me if they are working for you. Perhaps with a different provider??

So strange, as I can access lot of online radios and so.

Thanks!!

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Singapore problem??

Postby ksl » Mon, 21 Apr 2008 2:25 am

Asdracles wrote:My god, I have contacted lot of friends, and I feel that these radios are working worldwide but not in Singapore!

Is that possible?

My spanish friends, and more people around the world, checked and told me that are working properly. But all places in SG where I have tried... no way.

I would really feel incredible that this websites are in a blacklist. One is a top spanish radio, and the another one an "innocent" sport radio, so no point.

Please, if you are around Singapore, test these links and tell me if they are working for you. Perhaps with a different provider??

So strange, as I can access lot of online radios and so.

Thanks!!


Very strange, normally you can bypass blocked websites, by converting the domain name, into the IP address...then typing the IP address...but I still cannot get it....But if i ping the website it works, and if i ping the IP address it works....but and i say but...the timings on hops, don't look right at all! Something very strange! Average ping is 13m/s that cannot be right! That looks like a ping speed here in Singapore to me,!

I pinged the website www.cadenaser.com/ and it came back with

address to IP: 125.252.225.24...although the name of the IP address was a693.g.akamai.net when i google the address it doesn't exsist, however a similar address comes up called a9g.akamai..but no website...and with those ping speeds, I would say Singapore is blocking the site. probably by accident. I would check with the ISP.

I thnk when they block sites, they do it by bandwidth, which includes hundreds of IP addresses..by informing them, they can free it up! because they will exempt the IP address.

User avatar
Asdracles
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed, 07 Feb 2007
Location: Hong Kong (bye bye SG!)

So?

Postby Asdracles » Mon, 21 Apr 2008 12:41 pm

Yes, website is working, so IP is working. Just the mms protocol in the online radio is the problem.

Perhaps a block by high use of bandwidht, but seems strange too. Dont think lot of people in Singapore listen to spanish radio!

So what you suggest is.... sending an email to Starhub? Is is also your provider? But I have tried from SG Wireless (that is Singtel, I think) and I can't play them too. :?

Ok, I can always go to Johor Bahru when I really need to listen to some show :)


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests