Singapore Expats Forum

Maids in the condo pool?

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

jezzman
Regular
Regular

Maids in the condo pool?

Postby jezzman » Tue, 15 Apr 2008 10:51 am

I'm still quite new to the Singaporean way of life, so go easy on me :)

I was sat at the pool this Sunday and all of a sudden there was two of our guards who was yelling at this poor little girl in the pool. I later learned that it was a maid who was doing swimming lessons with two small children and they wanted her out of the pool. Reason being that maids are not allowed to enter the pool or jacuzzis... :-| Is that a normal rule ? And if it is, what's the point ?
Me, fail English?
But nooo, that's unpossible....

renter
Chatter
Chatter

Postby renter » Tue, 15 Apr 2008 11:07 am

don't you know, say it bluntly, maids are domestic slaves in this country?

indeed, you are new.

jezzman
Regular
Regular

Postby jezzman » Tue, 15 Apr 2008 11:13 am

renter wrote:don't you know, say it bluntly, maids are domestic slaves in this country?

indeed, you are new.

Yeah sorry about that. We all gotta start somewhere right :) I had heard maids were treated bad, just never guessed it was this bad... makes me feel a bit sad that but I'm probably just a softie :-|
Me, fail English?

But nooo, that's unpossible....

ksl
Governor
Governor

Postby ksl » Tue, 15 Apr 2008 12:29 pm

jezzman wrote:
renter wrote:don't you know, say it bluntly, maids are domestic slaves in this country?

indeed, you are new.

Yeah sorry about that. We all gotta start somewhere right :) I had heard maids were treated bad, just never guessed it was this bad... makes me feel a bit sad that but I'm probably just a softie :-|

However discrimination is against the law in Singapore, and I wouldn't be surprised if something wasn't said, if a complaint was submitted.